Meet your new Cambridge city councillors

Cambridge city council will be sworn in Tuesday night. Find out more about the new council here.

Cambridge's new council will be sworn in Tuesday night. 

Below is a brief look at your new councillors.

Candidates marked with an (R) have been re-elected.

Mayor: Doug Craig (R)

Doug Craig is re-elected for his fifth term as mayor of Cambridge in the 2014 municipal election. (Supplied by Doug Craig)

Doug Craig is starting his fifth term as mayor of Cambridge and a regional councillor. He is a strong advocate for Cambridge in the region,encouraging the province to increase GO service to the cityCraig is a proponent of saving historic buildings, and has been one of the players in the restoration of the Old Galt Post Office, as well as the rehabilitation of old city hall and the Fire Museum. Craig was an elementary school teacher for 25 years before he retired in 2000 to run for mayor. He established the annual 'Mayor's Celebration of the Arts' event, and was instrumental in bringing the Dunbar Theatre to Cambridge.  He told CBC News that one of his biggest weaknesses is chocolate. 

Ward 1: Donna Reid (R) 

(City of Cambridge)

Donna Reid is starting her second term in office. In her first term, she was the vice chair of the Cambridge city budget, sat on the city's human resources advisory committee and the core areas revitalization advisory committee. She was also a member of the Hespeler BIA. Previously, Reid ran for the NDP in the 2006 federal election, though Conservative Gary Goodyear took the seat. Reid, who is now retired, taught elementary special education. She was the director of the Federation of Women Teachers' Associations of Ontario and a governor of the Ontario Teachers' Federation.

Ward 2: Mike Devine

Mike Devine owns Devine Produce. (Mike Devine)

Mike Devine owns a small business, Devine Produce, that supplies produce locally. Prior to his business, he was a tool and die maker and was a former president for the Canadian Auto Workers Local 1451. Devine also sits on the board of directors of the Social Planning Council of Cambridge and North Dumfries.  

​Ward 3: Mike Mann


Mike Mann is the former deputy chief of the Waterloo Regional Police Service. He retired in 2011 after 35 years of police service and 10 years as deputy chief. He sits on the board of directors of the Waterloo-Wellington Alzheimer Society. 

Ward 4: Jan Liggett

(Jan Liggett)

Jan Liggett co-owns Garden Gate Ltd. & Benabec Architectural Precast Products with her husband. The company makes concrete garden ornaments as well as architectural products like fireplace surrounds. She is a member of the Cambridge Chamber of Commerce. She founded the Ornamental Concrete Producers Association in 1991. 

Ward 5: Pam Wolf (R)

(City of Cambridge)

This is Pam Wolf's third term on Cambridge council. She was first elected in 2007 to represent Ward 5. Wolf was an elementary school teacher before she retired when she was elected. In her time on council, she has served as the chair of the affordable housing sub-committee, and sat on the municipal environmental advisory committee as well as the planning department liaison committee.

Ward 6: Shannon Adshade

(Shannon Adshade)

Adshade is teacher, and started his career over 20 years ago. Currently he is teaching special education in several programs at Lutherwood and is a member of the Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario. Adshade also owns and operates two cabs in Cambridge, one of which is wheelchair accessible.

Ward 7: Frank Monteiro (R)

(City of Cambridge)

Frank Monteiro is starting his second term. He was a police officer with the Waterloo Regional Police Service for 35 year, working as a detective, a sergeant, a patrol officer and an undercover drug officer. He has retired from the force. 

Ward 8: Nicholas Ermeta (R)

(Nicholas Ermeta)

Nicholas Ermeta is starting his second term. During his previous term he served on the youth advisory committee to council, and sat on the city budget committee, the heritage and the Cambridge striking committee. He graduated from the University of Waterloo with a bachelor of environmental studies in 2011, finishing after being elected to council in 2010. He also has a diploma in urban and regional planning from Mohawk College.