Liberal Marwan Tabbara re-elected in Kitchener South-Hespeler

Liberal incumbent Marwan Tabbara has been re-elected in Kitchener South-Hespeler, winning about 40 per cent of the popular vote.

Liberal incumbent has 41 per cent of popular vote

Marwan Tabbara, the Liberal incumbent, has been reelected in Kitchener South-Hespeler, CBC News projects. He has 41 per cent of the popular vote, according to 135/207 polls. (CBC)

Marwan Tabbara, the Liberal incumbent, has been re-elected in Kitchener South-Hespeler with about 40 per cent of the popular vote.

Alan Keeso, the Conservative candidate, took 33 per cent of the popular vote.

NDP's Wasia Rahimi received 13 per cent of the vote, Green Party candidate David Weber took 11 per cent, People's Party candidate Joseph Todd won two per cent. 

Matthew Correia of the Veteran's Coalition Party took 0.2 per cent and Elaine Baetz of the Communist Party received 0.1 per cent.

This is the newest riding in Waterloo region. Tabbara became its first MP when he won the 2015 election.

The boundaries include the part of Cambridge that is north of Highway 401 and a section of Kitchener east of Fischer-Hallman Road and south of the Conestoga Parkway, Fairway Road and Kossuth Road. The riding stretches east to Townline Road.

The riding has around 80,000 voters.

Kitchener South-Hespeler was identified as a Conservative-Liberal battleground by CBC. Wilfred Laurier University associate professor Barry Kay predicted it would be a "horse race."

2019 candidates

Liberal Party: Incumbent Marwan Tabbara, who won the riding in 2015 and previously worked for Frito Lay.

Conservative Party: Alan Keeso, a consultant.

New Democratic Party: Wasai Rahimi, executive director of iHelp international.

Green Party: David Weber, who was a police officer.

People's Party: Joseph Todd.

Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada: Elaine Baetz.

Veterans Coalition Party of Canada: Matthew Correia.