Liberal Lloyd Longfield re-elected in Guelph

Liberal incumbent Lloyd Longfield took an early lead in Guelph and went on to win the riding.

Polls were open Monday 9:30 a.m. to 9:30 p.m.

Lloyd Longfield has been re-elected in Guelph, CBC projects. Longfield has been the MP in Guelph since 2015. (Photo provided)

Liberal incumbent Lloyd Longfield has been re-elected in the riding of Guelph.

Longfield won about 42 per cent of the vote. In second was Conservative Ashish Sachan with 24 per cent and NDP candidate Aisha Jahangir had about 21 per cent.

Green candidate Michelle Bowman finished in fourth with over seven per cent of the vote, a drop of almost 18 per cent of popular vote for the Green party in the riding from the 2019 election.

People's Party of Canada candidate Joshua Leier ended the campaign with just under five per cent.

Animal Protection Party candidate Karen Levenson finished with 0.4 per cent and Communist candidate Tristan Dineen with 0.3 per cent.

Voter turnout was about 62 per cent, down about nine percent as compared to the 2019 election. 

History of riding

Liberal Lloyd Longfield first won the seat in 2015 and then again in 2019.

Before Longfield, Liberal MP Frank Valeriote served from 2008 and 2015, but he chose not to run again in 2015.

The seat has been Liberal since 1993 when Brenda Chamberlain won 39.24 per cent of the vote over the Reform candidate, who had 24.94 per cent of the vote, and the Progressive Conservative with 20.66 per cent.

Prior to Chamberlain, Progressive Conservative Bill Winegard held the seat from 1984 to 1993. He did not run in the 1993 election.

From 1980 to 1984, Liberal Jim Scroder was the MP for Guelph, and Progressive Conservative Albert Fish was the MP from 1979 to 1980. 

Prior to 1979, Guelph was included in the riding of Wellington, which was created in 1968.

Before that, Guelph was in the riding of Wellington South, which was created in 1867. It has switched back and forth between Liberal and Conservative MPs and briefly from 1917 to 1921, MP Hugh Guthrie was a Unionist. Guthrie served as a Liberal MP from 1900 to 1917 before becoming a Unionist. In 1921, Guthrie became a Conservative. He held the seat until 1935.