Dave Jaworsky elected Waterloo mayor

Dave Jaworsky will be Waterloo's next mayor, beating rival Erika Traub by a comfortable margin of 7,811 votes.
Dave Jaworsky celebrates his 2014 election win with his family. (Matt Kang/CBC News)

Dave Jaworsky has been elected mayor of Waterloo, succeeding Brenda Halloran, who wasn't running for re-election in this year's vote.

With all polls reporting, Jaworsky finished with 14,103 votes Monday, ahead of his closest rival Erika Traub by 7,811 votes, according to unofficial results released by the City of Waterloo.

Jaworsky had an early lead, which only strengthened as polling results rolled in.

"The fact that the win came so quickly was very much a surprise to me, but that's exciting," said Jaworsky.

Jaworsky said his first priority as mayor is to work on the economic development strategy for both the city and the region.

"That is key to do in 2015 because we can't waste any time focusing on things that happened years ago. We need to focus on the future right now," Jaworsky said.

Broadcaster Dave MacDonald, whose platform included a pledge to revoke the construction of the LRT, finished in third place, trailing Jaworsky by 9,671 votes. Rami Said rounded out the field, picking up 696 votes.

Voter turnout is reported at 35.93 per cent, which is lower than the 40 per cent figure in the 2010 municipal election.

Below is the newly elected Waterloo council.

Ward Councillor results:

  • Ward 1: Bob Mavin (acclaimed)
  • Ward 2: Brian Bourke leading with 798 votes over Janice (Lemieux) Moore with 711 votes
  • Ward 3: Angela Vieth (incumbent)
  • Ward 4: Diane Freeman (incumbent)
  • Ward 5: Mark Whaley (incumbent)
  • Ward 6: Jeff Henry (incumbent)
  • Ward 7: Melissa Durrell (acclaimed)