Perth-Wellington riding: Conservative John Nater elected

Conservative John Nater has won the riding of Perth-Wellington.
Conservative candidate John Nater has been elected in the riding of Perth-Wellington. (John Nater)

Conservative John Nater has won the riding of Perth-Wellington with 49.3 per cent of the popular vote. Liberal candidate Stephen McCotter is second with 37.2 per cent, while NDP candidate Ethan Rabidoux trailed at 14.5 per cent with 87 per cent of polls reporting.

Perth-Wellington is a largely rural Ontario riding whose boundaries include Stratford and St. Marys as well as Perth County and a portion of Wellington County in the 2015 federal election.

Prior to the 2015 election, it was held by Conservative MP Gary Schellenberger, who won his seat in 2011 with 54.5% of the vote. Schellenberger was first elected in 2003 and won five straight elections before announcing his retirement.

The riding has been considered one to watch in 2015, with polls indicated that the Liberal and Conservative candidates were neck-and-neck during the campaign's final days.

Check out the map below to compare local election results from 2011 and 2015, as data becomes available:

On mobile? Compare the 2011 and 2015 results for Southwestern Ontario here.

Candidates in 2015: 

  • Conservative: John Nater, served on West Perth Council in Mitchell from 2010 to 2014.
  • NDP: Ethan Rabidoux, was a radio news anchor.
  • Liberal: Stephen McCotter, has served as a municipal councillor for St. Marys.
  • Green: Nicole Ramsdale, was a schoolteacher.