Canada election 2015: list of Hamilton candidates

Here is a list of candidates from four major political parties in the Hamilton area who are running in the Oct. 19 federal election.

Canada's 42nd general election to be held on Oct. 19

Political candidates vying for a seat in Ottawa will be canvassing across five Hamilton ridings for 11 weeks as the longest political campaign in modern Canadian history unfolds. (Elections Canada)

A day after Prime Minister Stephen Harper asked Gov. Gen. David Johnston to dissolve Parliament for a general election, candidates from different sides of the political spectrum are already in full campaign mode. 

As Canadians get ready for the longest political campaign in modern Canadian history, there is plenty of time to get familiar with the candidates who will be knocking on your doors for the next 11 weeks. 

Here's a list of candidates from five Hamilton-area ridings. The four major parties in Ontario are ordered alphabetically. The candidate list is based on the latest information from the parties' official websites and will be updated as more nominations are announced. 

You can also find links to each candidate's campaign website by clicking on their names. 

Hamilton Centre


Yonatan Rozenszajn

Rozenszain will carry the Conservative banner in the race to unseat longtime NDP MP David Christopherson. The Hamilton lawyer was called to the bar in 2010 after obtaining a law degree from the University of Windsor.


Ute Schmid-Jones

Schmid-Jones is a practicing hypnotherapist, and a certified fitness instructor who has been teaching at the YMCA level for ten years. She holds a degree in broadcasting from Ryerson University. On a CV posted on her Facebook page, Schmid-Jones lists Midland, Ont. as her place of residence. 


Anne Tennier

Tennier accepted the Liberal nomination in July 2014. A chemist and engineer, she also sits on the boards of the Hamilton Conservation Foundation and Hamilton Philharmonic Orchestra.


David Christopherson

​The incumbent has been involved with all three levels of politics for three decades, serving first as a councillor and then an MPP. He is now seeking his fifth term as an MP. 

Hamilton East-Stoney Creek


Diane Bubanko

​Bubanko is the executive assistant to Mississauga South MP Stella Ambler. She also ran for Ward 5 trustee for the Catholic school board in the 2014 municipal election.




Bob Bratina

Former Hamilton mayor Bob Bratina is looking for a seat in Ottawa after a decade of municipal politics. He was elected as Ward 2 councillor in 2004 and then served as mayor from 2010 to 2014.


Wayne Marston

Marston is seeking re-election after three consecutive terms in Ottawa. He has been the NDP's critic for human rights and consular affairs, and deputy critic for labour. 

Hamilton Mountain


Allan Miles

Miles is a former candidate for Ward 6 public school trustee. He does not yet have a website or social media page listed.


Raheem Aman

Aman says he is an "aspiring environmental lawyer," cyclist, vegetarian, and "benevolent visionary."


Shaun Burt

Shaun Burt, a teacher, beat out lawyer Bruno Uggenti at a nomination meeting in August. He will try to take back what has become an NDP stronghold. 


Scott Duvall

The NDP has enlisted Duvall to keep its seat in Ottawa, after MP Chris Charlton announced in December 2014 that she will not seek re-election. Before taking a run at a higher office, Duvall served as a city councill for Ward 7 Central Mountain for nine years.

Hamilton West-Ancaster-Dundas


Vincent Samuel

The health professional has worked with City of Hamilton, St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton and several Toronto hospitals. Before coming to Canada in 1990, Samuel served as a major with the Pakistan Army. 


Peter Ormond

An engineer and environmental activist, Ormond has previous run for the Green Party at the provincial and federal levels. He works as an energy manager with Horizon Utilities and and also runs an environmental consultant company.


Filomena Tassi

After a career in law, Tassi now works as a chaplain for the Hamilton-Wentworth Catholic District School Board. She was also a provincial Liberal candidate for Hamilton Centre in 1995.


Alex Johnstone

First elected as a school trustee for Ancaster in 2010, Johnstone is now the vice-chair of the Hamilton-Wentworth District School Board. She also ran in the 2014 provincial election in Ancaster-Dundas-Flamborough-Westdale but lost to incumbent Ted McMeekin.



David Sweet

Sweet has represented the former riding of Flamborough since 2006 and is seeking re-election in the new riding of Flamborough-Glanbrook, as the electoral boundaries were redrawn in 2013 to reflect the population shifts in the 2011 census.




Jennifer Stebbing

​Stebbing runs a law firm in Burlington, after obtaining degrees from Michigan State University and University of Ottawa. 


Mike DiLivio

The 31-year-old electrician lives in Stoney Creek. He supports the Save Canada Post campaign and opposes Bill C-51 and the privatization of Hydro One. 

Be part of CBC Hamilton's live election coverage 

Tell us how your election day is going. Let us know starting at 9 a.m. on Monday and all through the day. Vote wisely. Your country will thank you if you do.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?