CBC's Jam for the Food Bank features The New Electric, Ellen Doty, Danny Vacon and Jocelyn Alice

Some of Calgary's top musical talents perform at CBC's Jam for the Food Bank this Friday, Dec. 2, at the Ironwood when the Key of A teams up with The Homestretch to help launch the CBC Calgary Food Bank Drive. We're recording, so you'll hear the live performances later this season on the Key of A. Plus, a preview of the Calgary Folk Music Festival's 2017 Block Heater Festival, which includes locals SAVK and Edmonton's Scenic Route to Alaska.

Key of A and the Homestretch join forces for a musical launch to the CBC Food Bank Drive

The Homestretch and Key of A join forces with live musicians to help launch CBC Calgary's Food Bank Drive on Friday, Dec. 2, from 3-6 p.m. at the Ironwood Stage & Grill. (CBC Calgary)

Some of Calgary's top musical talents are helping CBC raise money for the food bank this week at CBC's Jam for the Food Bank at the Ironwood Stage and Grill.

(Come on down, Friday, Dec. 2, from 3-6 p.m. if you're in town!)

We're recording, so you'll be able to hear their live performances in the weeks to come on the Key of A, but this week, you'll hear them on CD.

House band is The New Electric (YYC Music Awards Group of the Year!)

Musical guests include golden-voiced jazz/pop singer-songwriter Ellen Doty; Danny Vacon, front man of The Dudes and Dojo Workhorse; and Platinum-single singer-songwriter Joceyln Alice.

Looking ahead to 2017

You'll get a preview of Edmonton institution Wilfred N and the Grown Men's upcoming 10th album, ahead of its January 2017 release.

Plus, hear SAVK and Scenic Route to Alaska, two of the Alberta bands just announced as part of winter's answer to the Calgary Folk Music FestivalBlock Heater, which runs Feb 10-12, 2017.

Listen to the Key of A Saturday 5-6 p.m. across Alberta on CBC Radio One.


Katherine Duncan

Key of A Host

A classically trained musician, Katherine hosts CBC Music (formerly Radio 2) programs Choral Concert and Centre Stage, and highlights original music by Alberta artists on CBC Radio 1's Key of A. From 2016 to 2019, she served as Jury Foreperson of the Polaris Music Prize.