Municipal Election

Medicine Hat, Nanton, Claresholm elect new mayors

Results are in for towns and cities across southern Alberta.

New councils around southern Alberta to serve 4-year terms


  • Ted Clugston unofficially elected mayor of Medicine Hat
  • High River unofficially elects Craig Snodgrass
  • Former High River mayor Emile Blokland elected to town council
  • Chris Spearman unofficially elected mayor of Lethbridge
  • Blair Painter unofficially elected mayor of Crowsnest Pass
  • Red Deer unofficially elects Tara Veer, says no to ward system

Results are being tallied in towns and cities across southern Alberta. Official numbers won't be out for a few days. Below are the unofficial results from Monday's vote.

  • Have a photo of poll lines in your town or city? Tweet @CBCCalgary or email

​​Because of a change in provincial law, the winning candidates will serve a four-year term, a year longer than the previous term.

Social media reports show long line ups to cast ballots in High River. (@SarahNotNews/Twitter)

High River 

Craig Snodgrass has been elected as mayor of High River after a record voter turnout. Roughly 3,000 people cast ballots on Monday and another 800 voting in advance polls last week. Current Mayor Emile Blokland decided to run for town council and was elected, as was Dragan Brankovich, Cathy Couey, Peter Loran, Bruce Masterman and Don Moore. 


​Mayor Peter Brown was acclaimed for his second term. The councillors-elect are Kelly Hegg, Fred Burley, Ron Chapman, Allan Hunter and Darrell Belyk. The city says roughly 17 per cent of eligible voters cast ballots in the election, or 5,592 Airdrie residents.


Karen Sorensen has been re-elected as mayor of Banff. ​Ten candidates were in the race for six council positions. Corrie DiManno and Ted Christensen will join incumbents Stavros Karlos, Brian Standish, Grant Canning and Chip Olver on council for the next four years.


Bill Robertson is back as mayor of Okotoks. The six seats on municipal council will be filled by Carrie Fischer, Ken Heemeryck, Matt Rockley, Edward Sands, Tanya Thorn and Ray Watrin.


Ivan Brooker is the new mayor of Cochrane. Other members of Cochrane's new town council are Tara McFadden, Mary Lou Davis, Ross Watson, Morgan Nagel and Gaynor Levisky. Roughly 33 per cent of eligible voters cast ballots, or 4,543 Cochrane residents.

Red Deer

Three-term councillor Tara Veer will replace the retiring Morris Flewwelling as mayor of Red Deer. The eight council seats will be filled by Dianne Wyntjes, S.H. (Buck) Buchanan, Lawrence Lee, Lynne Mulder, Frank Wong, Ken Johnston, Paul Harris and Tanya Handley. In a referendum question, Red Deer residents voted 13,314 to 5,240 against dividing the city into wards.


​Steve Grajczyk has lost his bid for re-election as mayor to challenger Michael Ell. The six seats on council will be taken by Rocky Blokland, Pat Fule, Denise Peterson, John Rempel, Bob Sobol and Brad Walls.


Mayor Terry Yemen was acclaimed. Jay Garbutt, Thomas Victor Zariski, Patrick Kolafa, Lisa Hansen-Zacharuk, Tara McMillan and Sharel May Shoff have been elected as councillors for the city of Drumheller, with roughly 34.5 per cent of eligible voters casting ballots.


Former mayor Tom Rose has been re-elected as councillor alongside Kevin Jones, Rick Doherty, Doug Barlow, Cynthia Cassidy, Ric Beddows and Lynn MacWilliam. The decision on who sits in the mayor's chair rests with the new council. According to Bassano's local bylaw, the town's chief elected officer (mayor) will be selected from within the council.


Canmore voters have returned Mayor John Borrowman to office. Members of town council are Vi Sandford, Joanna McCallum, Sean Krausert, Esmé Comfort, Rob Seeley and Ed Russell. Some of the big issues for voters in Canmore have been land-use proposals for the Three Sisters area, as well as flood mitigation measures.


Martin Shields has been re-elected as mayor. Barry Morishito, Bill Prentice, Norman Gerestein, Dan Klein, Cathy Corbett-Schock and Fred Rattai will also sit on Brooks' town council for the next four years. 


Rob Steel is the new mayor of Claresholm, after a close race with former mayor David Moore. The six other seats on town council go to Jamie Cutler, Chris Dixon, Betty Fieguth, Shelley Ford, Mike McAlonan and Lyal O'Neill. 

​Crowsnest Pass

Blair Painter is the new mayor of Crowsnest Pass, handily defeating incumbent Bruce Decoux. William Kovak, Shar Lazzarotto, Marlene Anctil, Dave Filipuzzi, Doreen Glavin and Dean Ward will fill the town's six council seats. 


Mayor Rick Mousseau was acclaimed. Incumbent councillors Gail Nowlan and Donald LaVar Adams will join newcomers Garth Hollinger, Joyce McCoy, Kimberly Moore and Sheila Schulz on town council for the next four years.


Brian Spiller ran unchallenged as mayor following the decision by former mayor Jim Romane to retire. Incumbents Mark Kemball and Heather Taylor will join Gavin Bates, Doug Bos, Patt Churchill and Danny Rieberger on town council. 


Chris Spearman is the new mayor of Lethbridge. The eight seats on city council will be filled by Joe Mauro, Ryan Parker, Jeffrey Coffman, Jeff Carlson, Rob Miyashiro, Wade Galloway, Blaine Hyggen and Liz Iwaskiw. 

​Medicine Hat

Ted Clugston is the new mayor of Medicine Hat after defeating Norm Boucher, who had been seeking a third term as mayor. The eight seats on city council will be filled by Robert Dumanowski, Julie Christine Friesen, Jamie McIntosh, Brian Varga, Jim Turner, Celina Symmonds, Les Pearson and Bill Cocks. In a referendum question, voters were asked whether they were in favour of Bow Island Roman Catholic Separate School District No. 82 (Ward 2-Bow Island) withdrawing from the Medicine Hat Catholic Separate Regional Division No. 20 in order to join a different district or division. Residents voted in favour of the withdrawal.


Rick Everett has been elected as the new mayor of the Town of Nanton. Corrine Anchoris, Jennifer Handley, Jakob Hensel, Christophe Labrune, David Mitchell and Beryl West will join him on council.


​Judy Dahl has been re-elected as mayor of Olds. All six council positions have been filled by acclaimed councillors. 


Maggie Kronen has been elected as mayor of Cardston. Town council will be made up of Robert Barfuss, Dennis Barnes, Richard Bengry, William Creed, David Edmonds and William Peavoy.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.