MAP | See how Calgary looked before and after the vote

Use our interactive tool to compare how Calgary's electoral map looked before and after election night.

Kent Hehr and Darshan Kang city's first Grit MPs since 1968

While big swaths of Western Canada resisted the wave of red that spread over Canada on election night, team Trudeau did achieve its goal of breaking the Tories' nearly five-decade stronghold on Calgary.

Liberals were elected in both Calgary Skyview and Calgary Centre. Darshan Kang won Calgary Skyview by a comfortable margin over Conservative Devinder Shory and Kent Hehr beat Tory incumbent Joan Crockatt by fewer than 1,000 votes. 

The Conservatives won the remaining eight seats in the city, and the province remains otherwise solidly blue, save for three inner-city Edmonton ridings. The Liberals picked up Edmonton Mill Woods and Edmonton Centre, while the NDP took Edmonton Strathcona. 

Here's an interactive look at how the electoral map was changed by Monday's historic election, compared to 2011.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.