71% more advance voters turn out for Calgary-Lougheed byelection than last time

Four days of advance polls drew 3,534 early voters for the byelection in Calgary-Lougheed, an increase of 71 percentage points over the last time people in the riding went to the polls.

Turnout in riding up significantly compared with 2015 early voting, Elections Alberta says

A constituent votes at an advance polling station at South Gate Alliance Church for the byelection in Calgary-Lougheed. (Colin Hall/CBC)

Four days of advance polls drew 3,534 early voters for the byelection in Calgary-Lougheed, an increase of 71 per cent over the last time people in the riding went to the polls.

In the 2015 general election, 2,062 advance votes were cast, Elections Alberta said in a release Monday.

The polls were open from Wednesday to Saturday. 

The riding became vacant when MLA Dave Rodney stepped down to allow new United Conservative Party Leader Jason Kenney to run for a seat in the legislature.

The seven candidates running are:

  • Larry Heather, Independent.
  • Jason Kenney, United Conservative Party.
  • David Khan, Alberta Liberal Party.
  • Wayne Leslie, Independent.
  • Lauren Thorsteinson, Reform Party.
  • Romy Tittel, Green Party of Alberta.
  • Phillip van der Merwe, Alberta NDP.

The byelection is set for Thursday.

Voting locations will be open from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.

CBC Calgary is profiling the candidates for the major parties. Here's who we've talked to so far.

More information on the byelection is available from Elections Alberta.