Storms sweep over Alberta, warnings issued for central and eastern parts of province

Earlier heat warnings ended around 3 p.m.

Tornado warnings issued for Lamont and Smoky Lake counties northeast of Edmonton

A severe thunderstorm moved northeast across Alberta on Saturday. This photo was taken near Bonnyville, Alta. (Taylor Snyder)

A tornado was reported to have touched down near St. Paul, Alta. on Saturday and tornado warnings have been issued for three areas northeast of Edmonton — Lamont County near Andrew and Wostok, Smoky Lake County near Smoky Lake and Waskatenau, and Smoky Lake County near Vilna Saddle Lake and Whitefish Lake.

The warnings were issued around 3 p.m. Saturday. Summer-like weather across the province was hot enough in several eastern and central parts that heat and severe storm warnings were issued by Environment Canada.

St. Paul is about 200 kilometres northeast of Edmonton.

Severe thunderstorm watches are currently in effect for:

  • Co. of St. Paul near Ashmont St. Vincent and St. Lina, Co. of St. Paul near St. Paul and Lafond, Lac La Biche Co. near Fork Lake.
  • Wheatland Co. near Strathmore Lyalta and Carseland.
  • Rocky View Co. near Irricana Beiseker and Kathyrn, Wheatland Co. near Rockyford and Rosebud.
  • Co. of Two Hills near Willingdon and Hairy Hill.
  • Co. of Warner near Milk River and Coutts, Co. of Warner near Warner, Co. of Warner near Wrentham.
  • ​Co. of Two Hills near Two Hills and Brosseau.

"An area of showers and thunderstorms are forecast to develop through portions of central Alberta this afternoon then move to the northeast. These thunderstorms will continue into the evening hours. Large hail, strong winds and heavy rain are possible with these thunderstorms," read the Environment Canada in the weather alert. 

Environment Canada issued heat warnings for several parts of the province Saturday morning, all of which ended around 3 p.m.

Severe thunderstorm watches are also in effect for:

  • ​Brooks, Strathmore, Vulcan.
  • Cypress Hills Provincial Park, Foremost.
  • Drumheller, Three Hills.
  • Fort McMurray, Fort MacKay.
  • Fort Saskatchewan, Vegreville, Redwater, Smoky Lake.
  • Hanna, Coronation, Oyen.
  • Leduc, Camrose, Wetaskiwin, Tofield.
  • Lethbridge, Taber, Milk River.
  • Lloydminster, Wainwright, Vermilion, Provost.
  • Medicine Hat, Bow Island, Suffield.
  • Slave Lake.
  • Westlock, Barrhead, Athabasca.

For more information on current conditions in Alberta, visit the Environment Canada alerts page.