British Columbia

Fresh faces in the mayors' chairs: 16 new civic leaders elected in Metro Vancouver

From itsy-bitsy Belcarra to vast Vancouver, the 2018 municipal election has delivered new mayors to most of the region's municipalities.

Spurred by a wave of retirements, the election delivered change to most of the top jobs across the region

Sixteen new mayors have been elected in Metro Vancouver.

The 2018 civic election has brought an unprecedented turnover of mayors across the Metro Vancouver, in no small part due to the unprecedented number of retirements by sitting mayors leading up to to the election.

Here's who's new:

Vancouver - Kennedy Stewart

Vancouver mayor-elect Kennedy Stewart addresses supporters in Vancouver on Sunday, Oct. 21, 2018. (Darryl Dyck/The Canadian Press)

  • Votes won: 28.2 per cent 
  • Replaces: Gregor Robertson (retiring)
  • Background: Former NDP MP for Burnaby South. Used to know Jack Layton.

Burnaby - Mike Hurley 

Mike Hurley walks into the Firefighters Public House in Burnaby to celebrate his victory. (Tina Lovgreen/CBC)
  • Votes won: 52.5 per cent
  • Replaces: longtime incumbent Derek Corrigan who finished in second with 40.7 per cent of the vote.
  • Background: Former acting assistant fire chief in the City of Burnaby and former president of the Burnaby Firefighters Association. 

Surrey - Doug McCallum 

Doug McCallum, who served as Surrey's mayor from 1996 to 2005, was returned as mayor in 2018. (Jeremy Allingham/CBC)
  • Votes won: 41.4 per cent of the vote
  • Replaces: Linda Hepner (retiring)
  • Background: Previously served as Surrey mayor from 1996 to 2005.

Port Coquitlam - Brad West

Port Coquitlam mayor-elect Brad West. (City of Port Coquitlam)
  • Votes won: 86.2 per cent 
  • Replaces: Greg Moore (retiring)
  • Background: Three-term Port Coquitlam city councillor.

Port Moody - Rob Vagramov 

Port Moody mayor-elect Rob Vagramov. (
  • Votes won: 51.5 per cent
  • Replaces: Incumbent Mike Clay who lost out in the two-person race by less than 400 votes
  • Background: One-term city councillor. At 26 years of age, he becomes the youngest mayor in Metro Vancouver.

City of North Vancouver - Linda Buchanan

City of North Vancouver mayor-elect Linda Buchanan. (

 Votes won: 29.4 per cent
Replaces: Darrel Mussatto (retiring)
Background: Two-term city councillor and former school trustee.

District of North Vancouver - Mike Little

District of North Vancouver mayor-elect Mike Little. (Mike Little)

  • Votes won: 58.9 per cent
  • Replaces: Richard Walton (retiring)
  • Background: Three-term city councillor.

West Vancouver - Mary-Ann Booth

West Vancouver mayor-elect Mary-Ann Booth.
  • Votes won: 37.2 per cent
  • Replaces: Michael Smith (retiring)
  • Background: Defeated second-place mayoral candidate Mark Sager by 21 votes. Booth is a former two-term city councillor and former West Vancouver Board of Education chair.

Pitt Meadows - Bill Dingwall 

  • Votes won: 77.3 per cent
  • Replaces: Incumbent John Becker who finished a distant second.
  • Background: Former city councillor and RCMP member and chief of police for Maple Ridge and Pitt Meadows.

Maple Ridge - Mike Morden

  • Votes won: 56.1 per cent
  • Replaces: Nicole Read (retiring)
  • Background: Two term Maple Ridge city councillor.

Langley - Val van den Broek 

  • Votes won: 50 per cent
  • Replaces: Ted Schaffer (retiring)
  • Background: One term city councillor defeated former three-term Langley City mayor and provincial cabinet minister Peter Fassbender by 206 votes.

Delta - George Harvie 

  • Votes won: 39.2 per cent
  • Replaces: Lois Jackson (retiring after 19 years as mayor)
  • Background: Longtime Delta city manager.

White Rock - Darryl A. Walker

  • Votes won: 30 per cent
  • Replaces: Wayne Baldwin (retiring)
  • Background: Retired health-care worker and former president of the B.C. Government and Service Employees union. 

Village of Lions Bay - Ron McLaughlin 

  • Votes won: Acclaimed
  • Replaces: Karl Buhr (retiring)
  • Background: Two-term councillor in Lions Bay.

Village of Belcarra - Neil A. Belenkie

  • Votes won: 47.2 per cent
  • Replaces: Ralph Drew (retiring after 35 years as mayor)
  • Background: Harvard Business School graduate and business instructor, former elected councillor in Calgary community of Brittania.

Bowen Island - Gary Ander

Read more from CBC British Columbia


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.