Absolutely Canadian

Absolutely Canadian | Saturdays on CBC TV | About & Awards

Absolutely Canadian is a national weekly one-hour series showcasing documentaries and performance programs that tell unique stories from communities across Canada. All programs are produced locally, often by independent filmmakers, and have aired as part of a regional 'Absolutely' series

2:30 pm NT | 2 pm AT | 1 pm ET | 12 pm CT | 11 am MT | 10 am PT

Absolutely Canadian is a national weekly one-hour series showcasing documentaries and performance programs that tell unique stories from communities across Canada. All programs are produced locally, often by independent filmmakers, and have aired as part of a regional 'Absolutely' series. 

Most  Absolutely Canadian docs are available online at the same time as broadcast, and previous seasons are available online now. Many have been nominated or won awards (below). Follow  @AbCanCBC on Twitter for the latest news, schedule info and links to docs online. 

Absolutely Local

Seven new series premiere July 16, 2016
7 p.m.  |  8 p.m. AT  |  8:30 p.m. NT

Absolutely is back with a brand new lineup! Each six-part series airs regionally on CBC, select Saturday evenings from July-September. Docs are available online (nation-wide), at the same time as the telecast or shortly after. 

Awards:

Click on titles to watch the film.

John Mann: Here & Now

  • Winner - Best Program in Music, Comedy or Variety Program or Series - Leo Awards 2016
  • Nominated - Best Sound in a Variety or Animated Program or Series - Canadian Screen Awards 2016
  • Nominated - Best Music Program or Series - Canadian Screen Awards 2016

Human Library Stories

  • Winner -  Documentary - Local Release - The Gabriel Award 2016
  • Nominated - Documentary Arts & Culture ​ - ​2016 Golden Sheaf ​Awards - Yorkton Film Festival​ 2016

Okpik's Dream

  • Winner - The Grand Prix Rigoberta Menchu Community Award - Montreal First People's Festival 2015
  • Winner - Emerging Artist Award - Conseil des Arts et Lettres du Quebec
  • Nominated - Best Documentary Program - Canadian Screen Awards 2016

Studio Black! 

  • Winner - Best Television Series - Screen Nova Scotia Awards 2016
  • Nominated - Best TV Movie or Limited Series - Canadian Screen Awards 2016

My Week on Welfare

  • Nominated - Best Documentary - Screen Nova Scotia Awards 2016

The Wounded Healer: The Roland Vandal Story

  • Nominated - Documentary Arts & Culture ​ - ​2016 Golden Sheaf ​Awards - Yorkton Film Festival​ 2016

Seth's Dominion

  • Nominated - Best Director (Non Fiction ) -2016 Golden Sheaf ​Awards - Yorkton Film Festival 2015

Reaching Blue

  • Winner - Through the B.C. Lens Award - Province of British Columbia 2014
  • Nominated - Best Documentary Science/Nature/Technology - Yorkton Film Festival 2015
  • Nominated - Eric Moe Sustainability Film Award - DC Environmental Film Festival 2015

Bounty: Into The Hurricane

  • Winner - Best Atlantic Documentary - Atlantic Film Festival 2014

Treading Water

  • Winner - Best Short Documentary - imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival 2014

Studio 14 Sessions Part II

  • Nominated - Best Performance in a Variety or Sketch Comedy Program or Series (Kira Isabella) - Canadian Screen Awards 2015 

Alberta New Faces: Live From Festival Hall

  • Winner - Best Director Non-fiction +30 mins (Blake Horobin) - AMPIA Awards 2014 

The Gimli Glider: 30 Years Later 

  • Nominated - Best Documentary Program - Canadian Screen Awards 2014 

Hockey Migrations

  • Nominated - Best Documentary Program - Canadian Screen Awards 2014

Studio 14 Sessions

  • Nominated - Best Performance in a Variety or Sketch Comedy Program or Series (Kellylee Evans) - Canadian Screen Awards 2014  

Cue The Muse

  • Winner - Best Short Documentary - 2013 Leo Awards
  • Nominated - Best Arts/Entertainment Program/Special - 2014 Northwest Emmy Awards  
  • Nominated - Best Direction in a Documentary Program or Series - 2013 Leo Awards
  • Nominated - Best Editing in a Documentary Program or Series - 2013 Leo Awards

Strings

  • Winner - Outstanding Portrait/Biography - 2013 Gracie Awards

What Happens Next? The Dan Mangan Documentary

  • Nominated - Best Short Documentary - 2013 Leo Awards
  • Nominated - Best Musical Score - 2013 Leo Awards 

Pitches:

Do you have an idea for a TV program? Are you an independent filmmaker or content creator with an original, regional story to tell that is relevant to a provincial or national audience? Visit our Independent Producers page for more information on eligibility, genres, and contacts.