Star Wars collection available for digital download, streaming

Disney is making all six Star Wars films available for digital download and streaming through various online retailers starting Friday.

Multiple online retailers will sell 6 films plus bonus material

The Walt Disney Studios, Lucasfilm Ltd. and 20th Century Fox announced the upcoming release of The Star Wars Digital Movie Collection. All six epic films in the saga, from The Phantom Menace to Return of the Jedi, will be available on Digital HD globally beginning Friday. (www.starwars.com)

Star Wars fans be able to download or stream the entire collection in the intergalactic space saga starting this Friday, Walt Disney Studios, Lucasfilm Ltd. and 20th Century Fox have announced.

All six movies will be available for purchase either individually or as a collection through a variety of online retailers, including iTunes, Google Play and Amazon, among others, they said Monday.

The films in The Star Wars Digital Movie Collection, in order of their release, are:

  • Star Wars (also known as Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope), 1977.
  • The Empire Strikes Back (also known as Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back), 1980.
  • Return of the Jedi (also known as Star Wars Episode VI: Return of the Jedi), 1983.
  • Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace, 1999.
  • Star Wars Episode II: Attack of the Clones, 2002.
  • Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith, 2005.

It's the first time The Walt Disney Co., which owns Lucasflim Ltd., and 20th Century Fox, has made the films available digitally, allowing fans to dig into the space saga at home or on their hand-held devices.

The release also includes bonus material such as new and never-before-released conversations between artists and filmmakers and Star Wars creator George Lucas.

The Force Awakens in December

The Millennium Falcon will soar back into action in Episode: VII. (Disney/Lucasfilm)
The six-movie digital collection release will be available as anticipation builds for the next Star Wars movie. Episode VII, better known as Star Wars: The Force Awakens, is slated for a Dec. 18 release. 

The Force Awakens, which is set 30 years after Episode VI: Return of the Jedi, stars original cast members including Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher and Harrison Ford. It's assumed they will reprise their roles as Luke Skywalker, Princess Leia Organa and Han Solo, respectively. 

      1 of 0
      The highly anticipated movie will also feature actors John Boyega, Daisy Ridley, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Adam Driver and Andy Serkis.

      Little is known about the characters they will be bringing to life.

      Fans were given a few clues in a set of trading cards revealed by director J.J. Abrams and Lucasfilm late last year.

      The followup to that film, Star Wars: Episode VIII, is expected to blast into theatres in May 2017.

      Earlier this year, Disney also announced the first in a series of big-screen Star Wars stand-alone films.

      Rogue One will be directed by Gareth Edwards (Godzilla) and star Oscar-winning British actress Felicity Jones as the female lead.

      Filming is due to start in London this summer, with a release date of Dec. 16, 2016.


      To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

      By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.