Polaris Music Prize 2015 long list revealed

The Polaris Music Prize unveiled its long list of 40 nominees in contention for the prestigious award in Canadian music on Tuesday.

40 nominees are vying for the prestigious award for best Canadian album of the year

Toronto-based indie pop band based in Alvvays is one of 40 acts in the running for the 2015 Polaris Prize honouring the year's best Canadian album. The long list of nominees was unveiled Tuesday in Halifax.

Toronto-based indie pop band Alvvays, Canadian singer/songwriter and activist Buffy Sainte-Marie and Montreal-based jazz pianist Elizabeth Shepherd are just a few of the acts in the running for the 2015 Polaris Prize.

The long list of nominees for the prestigious award honouring the year's best Canadian album was revealed Tuesday in Halifax.

Canadian-born Cree singer-songwriter Buffy Sainte-Marie is in the running for her album Power In The Blood. (Chris Young/The Canadian Press)
The nominees, selected solely on artistic merit, include:

  • Absolutely Free – Absolutely Free
  • The Acorn – Vieux Loup
  • Lydia Ainsworth – Right From Real
  • Alvvays – Alvvays​
  • Arkells – High Noon
  • Rich Aucoin – Ephemeral
  • BADBADNOTGOOD & Ghostface Killah – Sour Soul
  • Bahamas – Bahamas Is Afie
  • The Barr Brothers – Sleeping Operator
  • Braids – Deep In The Iris
  • Steph Cameron – Sad-Eyed Lonesome Lady
  • Caribou – Our Love
  • Jazz Cartier – Marauding In Paradise
  • Jennifer Castle – Pink City
  • Cold Specks – Neuroplasticity
  • Louis-Jean Cormier – Les grandes artères
  • Death From Above 1979 – The Physical World
  • Drake – If You're Reading This It's Too Late
  • Frazey Ford – Indian Ocean
  • Tobias Jesso Jr. – Goon
  • B.A. Johnston – Shit Sucks
  • Pierre Kwenders – Le dernier empereur Bantou
  • Lee Harvey Osmond – Beautiful Scars
  • Jean Leloup – À Paradis City
  • METZ – II
  • Milk & Bone – Little Mourning
  • Tre Mission – Stigmata
  • The New Pornographers – Brill Bruisers
  • Joel Plaskett – The Park Avenue Sobriety Test
  • Buffy Sainte-Marie – Power In The Blood
  • Elizabeth Shepherd – The Signal
  • Siskiyou – Nervous
  • Colin Stetson and Sarah Neufeld – Never were the way she was
  • Various Artists – Native North America (Vol. 1): Aboriginal Folk, Rock and Country, 1966-1985
  • Viet Cong – Viet Cong
  • Patrick Watson – Love Songs For Robots
  • The Weather Station – Loyalty
  • White Lung – Deep Fantasy
  • Whitehorse – Leave No Bridge Unburned
  • Young Guv – Ripe 4 Luv

Hamilton's Arkells are in the running with their 2014 album High Noon. (Arkells/Twitter)
The Polaris winner is determined by an eleven-member jury of Canadian music journalists, broadcasters and bloggers.

Albums must have been released between ​June 1, 2014 to May 31, 2015 to be considered.

This year's winner will take home a new larger cash prize of $50,000 up from previous year's $30,000.

Each of the nine other short listed artists will receive $3,000. 

Inuk throat singer Tanya Tagaq won the most recent Polaris, while other winners include Feist, Arcade Fire and Caribou.

The short list will be unveiled on July 16, with the awards handed out at a gala  in Toronto on Sept. 21.

With files from The Canadian Press


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversationCreate account

Already have an account?