Watch the Eckhardt-Gramatté National Music Competition

Which of the 6 singer finalists will claim the $6,000 1st prize? Tune in Sept. 19 and 20 to find out.

Which of the 6 singer finalists will claim the $6,000 1st prize? Tune in Sept. 19 and 20 to find out

Russian-born Canadian composer, pianist and violinist Sophie Carmen Eckhardt-Gramatté was based in Winnipeg from the mid-1950s until her death in 1974. (Walter Gramatté/Supplied by the E-Gré Competition)

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Eckhardt-Gramatté (E-Gré) National Music Competition has moved online this year, with contestants live streaming their performances and the jury and public watching and listening via the web. The 2020 edition of the competition is for singers aged 18 to 35.

Six finalists, selected by a preliminary jury in January, will each perform a one-hour recital on Saturday, Sept. 19. The prize winners will be announced on Sunday, Sept. 20, at 11 a.m. ET.

In addition to receiving a $6,000 cash award, the first-prize winner will do a Canadian tour in November.

Highlights from the competition will be broadcast on Saturday, Sept. 26, on CBC Music's Saturday Afternoon at the Opera with Ben Heppner, himself an E-Gré laureate.

The E-Gré Competition places an emphasis on Canadian music composed after 1950. Each contestant will perform Gordon Fitzell's Han Kang: Lost in Translation, commissioned especially for this year's edition of the E-Gré Competition. 

Watch the competition's live stream, below. Scroll down for a detailed schedule of performances and information on the contestants, prizes and jury. Join the conversation on social media using #egréNEW.


  • Rebecca Gray, soprano.
  • Jayne Hammond, soprano.
  • Virginie Mongeau, soprano.
  • Sarah Parkin, soprano.
  • Brittany Rae, soprano.
  • Jennifer Routhier, mezzo-soprano.


All times are Eastern.

Saturday, Sept. 19

9 a.m.: E-Gré opening welcome.
10 a.m.: Sarah Parkin (soprano), Ben Smith (pianist).
11:30 a.m.: Jayne Hammond (soprano), Lisa Rumpel (pianist).
1:30 p.m.: Jennifer Routhier (mezzo-soprano), Natasha Fransblow (pianist).
3 p.m.: Virginie Mongeau (soprano),Jesse Plessis (pianist).
5 p.m.: Rebecca Gray (soprano), Cheryl Duvall (pianist).
6:30 p.m.: Brittany Rae (soprano), Jesse Plessis (pianist).

Sunday, Sept. 20

11 a.m.: Awards ceremony


  • First prize: $6,000 and a cross-Canada recital tour.
  • Second prize: $2,500.
  • Third prize: $1,500.
  • Fourth, fifth and sixth prizes: $1,000.
  • City of Brandon prize for best performance of the commissioned work: $1,000.


  • Adrianne Pieczonka.
  • Steven Philcox.
  • Helen Pridmore.
  • Glenn Hodgins (chair).