Listen to the first posthumous song from Leonard Cohen

Son Adam Cohen has brought his father's poem 'The Goal' to life for upcoming new album.

Son Adam Cohen has brought his father's poem 'The Goal' to life for upcoming new album

Thanks for the Dance, a collection of new songs by Leonard Cohen, will be released Nov. 22, 3 years after the Montreal singer's death. (

I'm almost alive
I'm almost at home
No one to follow
And nothing to teach
Except that the goal
Falls short of the reach

The words from Leonard Cohen's poem "The Goal" float off the page and into a minute-and-a-half-long song composed of piano and guitar in a new, posthumous track from the Montreal songwriter.

With the song comes the announcement of an album of entirely new material, called Thanks for the Dance, which will be released on Nov. 22. Cohen's son, Adam Cohen, put the project together with vocals Leonard had previously recorded around the time of his 2016 album, You Want it Darker.

Thanks for the Dance boasts a long list of collaborators: Spanish laud player Javier Mas, Damien Rice and Leslie Feist on vocals, Arcade Fire's Richard Reed Parry on bass, the National's Bryce Dessner on guitar, Beck on guitar and Jennifer Warnes on background vocals. Daniel Lanois and Patrick Watson contributed as arrangers and producers, respectively, on parts of the project.

"In composing and arranging the music for his words, we chose his most characteristic musical signatures, in this way keeping him with us," Adam explained in a statement. "What moves me most about the album is the startled response of those who have heard it. 'Leonard lives!' they say, one after the other."

Thanks for the Dance comes almost exactly three years after the songwriter's death. Check out the tracklist, below.

1. "Happens to the Heart"
2. "Moving On"
3. "The Night of Santiago"
4. "Thanks for the Dance"
5. "It's Torn"
6. "The Goal"
7. "Puppets"
8. "The Hills"
9. "Listen to the Hummingbird"