Junos

Notifications

News

Your radio guide to Music Day 2019 on CBC

We're devoting a special day of programming to Canadian music on March 17.

We're devoting a special day of programming to Canadian music on March 17

Donovan Woods, left, and Daniel Caesar, right, perform at the 2017 Junos Songwriters' Circle. (CARAS\iPhoto)

In celebration of the Juno Awards, CBC Music is devoting a special day of programming to Canadian music featuring this year's Juno-nominated artists and past Juno winners. We're calling it Music Day on CBC. And it's not just on the radio: you can catch specials on CBC Television, and complete editorial and streaming content at cbcmusic.ca/junos.

Here's the full rundown of what you'll hear on the radio on Sunday, March 17, including the Juno Awards broadcast. (Click here for local CBC Music frequencies.)

Weekend Mornings on CBC Music
6 to 9 a.m. (6:30 a.m. NL)

Angeline Tetteh-Wayoe is your gateway to Music Day on CBC. She'll be highlighting the performers and nominees from the 2019 Juno Awards broadcast, plus previewing all the special content coming up all Sunday long on CBC Music.

The Juno Classical Showcase
9 to 11 a.m. (9:30 a.m. in NL)

CBC Music in collaboration with the Canadian Music Centre celebrates Canada's greatest classical musicians with an exclusive Junos showcase recorded live at Aeolian Hall in London. Hear some of the 2019 Juno nominees including the Gryphon Trio as our house band.

Julie Nesrallah, host of Tempo on CBC Music, will introduce you to a variety of illustrious artists and welcome the audience to this star-studded concert of classical music at its finest.

The Juno Cover Sessions
11 a.m. to noon (11:30 in NL) on CBC Music
11:15 p.m. AT, 10:15 p.m. ET, 9:15 p.m. CT, 8:15 p.m. MT, 7:15 p.m. PT on Radio One

As part of our 2019 Junos coverage, we asked some of Canada's best and brightest acts to cover past Juno Award-winning songs. With host Raina Douris, you'll hear Charlotte Cardin's fresh take on Nickelback, Kaia Kater's electronic version of "Crabbuckit" by k-os, and many more innovative cover tunes.

To watch any of these cover sessions, head to cbc.ca/junos.

The East Coast Juno Hour
Noon to 1 p.m. (12:30 p.m. in NL), airing in Atlantic and Newfoundland time zones only

A celebration of East Coast artists who will have recently won a Juno and an overview of winners from years past.

The Juno Songwriters' Circle
Noon to 2 p.m. (1:30 NL, 1 p.m. AT) on CBC Music
Noon ET, 1 p.m. AT, 11 a.m. CT, 10 a.m. MT, 9 a.m. PT on Radio One

Considered the jewel of Juno Week, the Juno Songwriters' Circle offers fans the unique opportunity to hear the stories behind the songs and then hear those songs performed in a raw, acoustic format. 

Alan Doyle will host and perform at this year's songwriters' circle at Centennial Hall in London alongside current and past Juno Award nominees. Full lineup to be announced.

Deep Dive on Corey Hart
2 p.m. ET; 3 p.m. AT; 7:15 PT; 8:15 p.m. MT; 9:15 p.m. CT

Rich Terfry takes us on a deep dive into this year's Canadian Music Hall of Fame inductee Corey Hart's debut album, First Offense.

The Juno Jazz Showcase
 2 p.m. CT/MT; 3 p.m. ET, 4 p.m. AT; 8 p.m. PT

Live from McManus Stage in London, this special concert will feature performances from 2019 Juno-nominated artists. With host Laila Biali.

Headlines and Hits
3 p.m. CT; 4 p.m. ET; 5 p.m. AT; 9 p.m. MT/PT

We revisit the cultural highlights and lowlights that have gone by since the last Junos were handed out, from Alessia Cara's Grammy win to Drake being "bigger than the Beatles" to the many songs of the summer.

Amanda Parris is your guide, weaving together interviews with CBC Music experts and archival clips from the past year.

The Juno Winners' Circle
2 p.m. PT; 3 p.m. MT; 4 p.m. CT; 5 p.m. ET; 6 p.m. AT 

A celebration of all the winners from the Juno Awards' Saturday night gala, including interviews, acceptance speeches and insight from CBC Music experts.

The 2019 Juno Awards
5 p.m. PT; 6 p.m. MT; 7 p.m. CT; 8 p.m. ET; 9 p.m. AT on both CBC Music and Radio One

Join hosts Rich Terfry and Angeline Tetteh-Wayoe as they present a simulcast of the 2019 Juno Awards live on CBC Music. They'll be your colour commentators on Canadian music's biggest night of the year.

The Strombo Show
10 p.m. CT/MT/PT; 10:15 p.m. ET; 11:15 p.m. AT

Strombo celebrates the Junos with requests from this year's Juno-nominated artists for songs by other Juno-nominated artists including Boogat, Dave Merheje, Debra DiGiovanni, Dubmatrix, Elisapie, Exco Levi, Hubert Lenoir and Loud Luxury.

The show will also feature house sessions from this year's Juno-nominated artists, including Snotty Nose Rez Kids. Plus, covers of Joni Mitchell and the Tragically Hip by Juno-nominated artists AHI, Arkells, Coeur de pirate, Dizzy, Donovan Woods, Jeremy Dutcher, Milk & Bone and the Trews. And let's not forget it is also St. Patrick's Day, so we'll welcome the mighty Flogging Molly for a performance and conversation.

Comments

To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.