'I am profoundly grateful': 2020 Juno winners react to their wins on social media

Lennon Stella, Pup, Dawn Tyler Watson and more shared heartfelt messages after Monday night's live streamed event.

Lennon Stella, Pup, Dawn Tyler Watson and more shared messages after Monday night's live streamed event

Lennon Stella won her 1st Juno Award ever for breakthrough artist of the year. (Lennon Stella/Twitter)

After cancelling its ceremony back in March, the Juno Awards finally revealed this year's winners via a live streamed event on CBC Music on Monday night.

Featuring guest presenters and special performances, the evening was just missing one thing: acceptance speeches. But many of the winners were able to share their reactions and gratitude on social media. Below are some of those responses.

For the full list of winners, click here.

Lennon Stella won her first Juno for breakthrough artist of the year.

Alessia Cara earned three Juno Awards (album of the year, songwriter of the year and pop album of the year) and thanked the Junos in a special handwritten note.


Jessie Reyez won R&B/soul recording of the year for her collaboration with Tainy and two-time winner Tory Lanez, who made history as the first artist to win in both the rap and R&B categories in the same year.

Pup, winner of alternative album of the year, used its win as a platform to bring attention to the Toronto City Council's June 29 vote against defunding the police.


Lights and Felix Cartel, winners of dance recording of the year, celebrated together by popping a bottle of champagne. 

Alexandra Stréliski won her first Juno Award for instrumental album of the year and celebrated with her own makeshift trophy.

Sarah Legault, director of Iskwē's 'Little Star,' took home music video of the year. Legault dressed up and watched the show live in a park with friends.

Avril Lavigne won the Fan Choice Award for a second year in a row.

Dawn Tyler Watson was another first-time winner, taking home blues album of the year.

Celeigh Cardinal celebrated her win for Indigenous artist or group of the year with family and friends.

Orchestre symphonique de Montreal was very proud of its win for classical album of the year: large ensemble.

Ottawa Bach Choir's win for classical album of the year: vocal or choral means that Governor General Julie Payette is now a Juno winner.


Neon Dreams picked up its first Juno for breakthrough group of the year.

Lee Harvey Osmond won contemporary roots album of the year — even though he was rooting for Del Barber to win.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.