Haviah Mighty's 'Thirteen' video wins the 2021 Prism Prize

Halifax rapper Aquakultre also takes home the fan-voted Audience Award.

Halifax rapper Aquakultre also takes home the fan-voted Audience Award

Haviah Mighty released her official video for 'Thirteen,' animated by Theo Kapodistrias, on Canada Day. (Theo Kapodistrias)

Toronto rapper Haviah Mighty garnered another national prize tonight, this time winning the Prism Prize alongside director and animator Theo Kapodistrias for their animated video "Thirteen," off Mighty's Polaris Prize-winning album 13th Floor. "Thirteen" was released on Canada Day 2020, and in it Mighty connects slavery to the modern-day prison system in vivid, personal detail. Mighty and Kapodistrias will collectively receive $20,000 as the grand prize-winning creative team.

Visualized | The Making of Haviah Mighty's video "Thirteen"

2 years ago
Duration 3:45
"I hope when people watch [the video for] 'Thirteen,' they feel moved to do their part in reversing white supremacy. I hope we can begin to see one another as equal — a dream I've always hoped could one day be a reality. " Haviah Mighty breaks down the making of her video for "Thirteen" which explores the history of slavery in the United States and how Black people are systemically oppressed globally to this day.

Halifax rapper Aquakultre also came away a winner, nabbing the fan-voted Audience Award for his "Pay it Forward" video, which he co-directed with Evan Elliot.

Founded in 2012 to recognize outstanding artistry in Canadian music videos, the Prism Prize grand prize winner is chosen by a jury of more than 130 media professionals, who this year reviewed more than 300 Canadian music videos to select a long list of 20 videos, followed by a short list of 10. This year the short list included videos from Clairmont the Second, Tobi, Andy Shauf, Lido Pimienta, Mustafa, Rich Aucoin, Savannah Ré, Sean Leon, Witch Prophet and Mighty. 

The July 26 virtual presentation, narrated by Cadence Weapon, also honoured the following previously announced award recipients: 

  • Hi-Fidelity Award for recording artists who use music video in innovative ways: Crack Cloud.
  • Lipsett Award for unique approaches to music video art: Gennelle Cruz. 
  • Special Achievement Award for exceptional contributions to music video art on the world stage: Jordan Oram.
  • Willie Dunn Award for a Canadian trailblazer who has demonstrated excellence within the music video community: Leanne Betasamosake Simpson, who selected Inuk singer Beatrice Deer to receive a $2,500 apprenticeship award.

All Prism Prize award recipients, including the grand prize, audience award, and all special award winners, receive equipment rental grants of $2,500, while each shortlister receives $1,000.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?