GEORGE STROUMBOULOPOULOS TONIGHT 'Made In Canada' Lounge Celebrates Canadian Brands for a Fifth Year at TIFF

Aug 29, 2013
Celebrity guests, audience members to be introduced to Canada’s iconic products
 
GEORGE STROUMBOULOPOULOS TONIGHT will launch the fifth iteration of its successful ‘Made in Canada’ Lounge at the 2013 Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF). This year, more than 75 brands will be showcased at the lounge, with products from local artists and sought-after design talent, to homegrown-turned-international success stories. The common thread? Canadian roots.
 
Among the selection of everything from coats, toques, t-shirts and bags, to beauty products, décor items and gourmet food and beverage, there are a number of past lounge participants returning. Plus, guests can expect a fresh crop of proudly Canadian brands, including some products featured on CBC’s Dragons’ Den.
 
The 2013 ‘Made in Canada’ Lounge will embrace Canada’s heritage, translated through décor to reflect a cool, but cozy cabin in the woods, complete with perfectly-Canadian highlights. Think: a Brothers Dressler “Branches Chandelier”; a feature wall of reclaimed wood punctuated by Atelier 688‘s famous paddles, and a fireplace feature; rocking furniture by Toronto- and Vancouver-based Style Garage; resin artwork by Christine Flynn of Love The Design; and even a nod to Canada’s national sport—a screen of hockey sticks. The design vision and its orchestration are a collaborative effort between BEST PR Boutique and Apartment 4-a Montreal design collective.
 
The product and décor sponsors that make it possible for guests of GEORGE STROUMBOULOPOULOS TONIGHT during TIFF to sample some of Canada’s most coveted products, gain international exposure with celebrity interaction. The ‘Made in Canada’ lounge has previously hosted such top talent as: Javier Bardem, Drew Barrymore, Jay Baruchel, Benjamin Bratt, Michael Douglas, Joshua Jackson, Wyclef Jean, Juliette Lewis, Ewan McGregor, Edward Norton, Clive Owen, Robert Plant, Jason Reitman, Seth Rogen, Geoffrey Rush, Martin Sheen, David Spade, Kristin Scott Thomas, Marisa Tomei and Olivia Wilde.
 
In addition, audience members at live tapings of GEORGE STROUMBOULOPOULOS TONIGHT have a chance to take home a selection of the products featured at the lounge. Canadians across the country will also be able to sample a cross-section of the brands through an online contest at www.strombo.com (Visit cbc.ca/strombo.com for more details as of September 5, 2013.)
 
The ‘Made in Canada’ Lounge is located in the CBC Building (205 Wellington Street West), next to the GEORGE STROUMBOULOPOULOS TONIGHT show studio. Media are invited to attend a preview of the GEORGE STROUMBOULOPOULOS TONIGHT “Made in Canada” Lounge on Tuesday, September 3, 2013 from 1PM to 4PM.
 
GEORGE STROUMBOULOPOULOS TONIGHT airs Monday through Friday at 7 p.m. (7:30 NT), with an encore airing at 11:30 p.m. (12:00 NT). The show is taped daily in front of a live studio audience at the CBC Broadcasting Centre in Toronto. Tania Natscheff is executive producer and Dan Hughes is senior producer. George Stroumboulopoulos is co-executive producer and host.
 
The show is back with all new episodes as of September 16, 2013 at 7 p.m. (7:30 NT).
 
The ‘Made In Canada’ Lounge is made possible by the generous donations of the following product and decor sponsors:
 
Alexis Smart Flower Remedies | alexissmart.com | @AlexisSmart2
Apartment 4 | apt4.ca
Atelier 688 | atelier688.com
Avril Loreti | avrilloreti.com | @avrilloreti
AWAKE Chocolate | awakechocolate.com | @AwakeChocolate
Bamboobino at Advice from a Caterpillar | bamboobino.com | @Bamboobino | @AdviceABCD
Bang & Olufsen Yorkville | beotoronto.com| @BandOYorkville
Bastien Industries | bastienindustries.ca
Belly Ice Cream Company | bellyicecreamcompany.ca | @BellyIceCreamCo
benourished | benourished.com | @benourishedca
Bobbette & Belle | bobbetteandbelle.com | @BobbetteBelle
Brendan Canning | brendancanning.com | @canningb
Brothers Dressler | brothersdressler.com | @BrosDressler
Cake Beauty | cakebeauty.com | @cakebeauty
Calgary Flames | flames.nhl.com | @NHLFlames
Canada Goose Inc. | canada-goose.com | @CanadaGooseInc
Canadian Tire |canadiantire.ca|@CanadianTire
Christine Flynn | christineflynnart.com
City of Neighbourhoods by Tuck Shop Trading Co. | tuckshopco.com | @TuckShopCo
Cococo Chocolatiers, the Chocolaterie Bernard Callebaut Company |bernardcallebaut.com|@ChocBernCal
Colchester Ridge Estate Winery (CREW) | colchesterridge.com | @CREWinery
Company B | company-b.ca
Daneson Toothpicks | daneson.com | @daneson
Dillon’s Small Batch Distillers | dillons.ca | @dillonsdistills
Edmonton Oilers | oilers.nhl.com | @EdmontonOilers
Elizabeth Grant | elizabethgrant.com | @EGSkincare
FLOR (Toronto) | flor.com | @FLOR
Foxy Originals | foxyoriginals.com | @foxyoriginals
Georgian Bay Granola Company | facebook.com/GeorgianBayGranolaCompany | @gbgranolaco
Grainstorm | grainstorm.com | @GRAINSTORM
GRAYDON Clinical Luxury by Nature| clinicalluxurybynature.com | @clinicalluxury
Gregory Allen Company | gregoryallencompany.com | @gregoryallencom
Greta Constantine | gretaconstantine.com | @gretconstantine
Hand and Beak starring Luigi the Lovebird | handandbeak.com | @LuigiLovebird
Hatley | hatleystore.com | @HatleyStore
Heyday Design | heydaydesign.ca | @heyday_design
JdJ Jewellery | jdj-jewellery.com | @JdJJewels
Jenny Bird | jenny-bird.com | @_jennybird
Kitchen Cures by Peggy Kotsopoulos | peggyk.com | @bevibranthealth | penguin.ca
KLAS Accessories | klasaccessories.com | @KLASaccessories
Leaves of Trees | leavesoftrees.com | @leavesoftrees1
Limonana | drinklimonana.com | @DrinkLimonana
Love The Design | lovethedesign.com | @love_the_design
Love Winter Inc. | lovewinter.com | @welovewinter
Loyal Loot | loyalloot.com | @loyalloot
Mèreadesso | mereadesso.com | @BeautyTruths
Mill Street Brewery | millstreetbrewery.com | @MillStreetBrew
mimiTENS | mimitens.com | @mimitens
mini mioche | minimioche.com| @minimioche
Montreal Canadiens | canadiens.nhl.com | @CanadiensMTL
Neal Brother’s Foods | nealbrothersfoods.com | @nealbrothers
Ninutik | ninutik.com
nūd fūd inc. | www.nudfud.com | @nudfud
Oliberté | oliberte.com | @oliberte
OMG’s | omgs.ca | @OMGscandy
Pehr | pehrdesigns.com
Pop Shoppe | thepopshoppe.com | @popshoppepop
Preloved | preloved.ca | @prelovedlove
Province Apothecary | provinceapothecary.com
Pure Green Magazine | puregreenmag.com | @puregreenmag
Ron White Shoes | ronwhiteshoes.com | @RonWhiteShoes
Room 2046 | room2046.com | @room2046toronto
Shared / Drake General Store | drakegeneralstore.ca | @DrakeGenrlStore
Shawna Tabacznik | shawna-tabacznik.com
Sheridan Nurseries | sheridannurseries.com | @SheridNurseries
Slava Ultra Premium Vodka | slavavodka.com | @slavavodka
Sloane Fine Tea Merchants | sloanetea.com | @sloanetea
Smells Like Canada | smellslikecanada.com | @smelllikecanada
SNEHA VARMA | snehavarma.com | @_SnehaVarma
Stylegarage | stylegarage.com | @STYLEGARAGE
Sweets from the Earth | sweetsfromtheearth.com | @SFTEBakery
Thomas Lavers Cannery & Delicatessen | @ThomasLaversCD
Three Farmers Camelina Oil | threefarmers.com | @threefarmers
ThreeWorks | threeworks.ca | @ThreeWorksSnack
Tim Hortons | timhortons.com | @TimHortons
Toronto Maple Leafs | mapleleafs.nhl.com | @MapleLeafs
Tosca Delfino | toscadelfino.com | @ToscaDelfino
Trivial Pursuit Party Game by Hasbro Canada | hasbro.ca
Vancouver Canucks | canucks.nhl.com | @VanCanucks
Vega | myvega.com | @VegaTeam
Waxon Waxbar | waxon.ca | @WAXON_WAXBAR
Wendell Estate Honey | wendellestate.ca | @WendellEstate
 
Media references for the “Made in Canada” lounge:
#MadeInCanada
 
pinterest.com/georgestrombo/madeincanada (As of September 4, 2013.)
 
Find George Stroumboulopoulos:
cbc.ca/strombo
facebook.com/strombo
cbc.ca/strombo/radio/
@strombo #gTonight
-30-
About CBC/Radio-Canada
CBC/Radio-Canada is Canada’s national public broadcaster and one of its largest cultural institutions. The Corporation is a leader in reaching Canadians on new platforms and delivers a comprehensive range of radio, television, internet, and satellite-based services. Deeply rooted in the regions, CBC/Radio-Canada is the only domestic broadcaster to offer diverse regional and cultural perspectives in English, French and eight Aboriginal languages.
 
For media inquiries, please contact:
Erin Richards
entertainment publicist, CBC
erin.richards@cbc.ca
416-205-7994 (office) / 416-627-5728 (cell)
 
Candice Best
BEST PR Boutique
best@bestprboutique.com
416.525.1332