DUNCAN McCUE NAMED NEW HOST OF CBC’S CROSS COUNTRY CHECKUP

Jul 25, 2016
CBC Radio One today announced that CBC News correspondent Duncan McCue has been named the new host of CROSS COUNTRY CHECKUP, beginning Sunday, August 7. The popular open-line program airs Sundays at 1 p.m. PT, 2 p.m. MT, 3 p.m. CT, 4 p.m. ET, 5 p.m. AT and 5:30 p.m. NT on CBC Radio One.  
 
"Duncan is the perfect choice for Cross Country Checkup," said Susan Marjetti, executive director of CBC Radio English Services. "He brings a fresh perspective and strong history of award-winning storytelling on CBC to this iconic program, which has proven to be a mainstay in our mandate to connect and reflect Canada to all Canadians."
 
Celebrating its 51st anniversary this year, CROSS COUNTRY CHECKUP is Canada's only national open-line radio program. More than half a million listeners tune in  every Sunday afternoon to hear a lively exchange of ideas between callers and invited guests, and a broad cross-section of opinions on the topic of the day. On average, 5,000 to 10,000 people attempt to call in during the broadcast to join the discussion.
 
McCue has guest-hosted a number of episodes since Rex Murphy's retirement as host in September 2015, including a live show from Iqaluit.
 
"I'm honoured to join a program with such a long history," said Duncan McCue, "Cross Country Checkup is a special place - a couple of hours on national radio where Canadians from all walks of life get to talk and listen to one another."
 
A reporter for CBC News in Vancouver for over 15 years, McCue's work has garnered several RTNDA and Jack Webster Awards. He was part of the CBC Aboriginal team's acclaimed investigation into missing and murdered Indigenous women that has won numerous honours including the Hillman Award for Investigative Journalism and the 2016 Canadian Association of Journalist's Don McGillivray Award. He's also an author: his book The Shoe Boy: A Trapline Memoir recounts a season he spent in a hunting camp with a Cree family in northern Quebec as a teenager. Now based in Toronto, his news and current affairs pieces will continue to be featured on CBC's flagship news show, The National.
 
Canadians can engage with CROSS COUNTRY CHECKUP through a toll-free number (during the broadcast only) at 1-888-416-8333, online live chat at www.cbc.ca/ checkup (during broadcast), and on Twitter @checkupcbc, Facebook at CBCCrossCountryCheckup and by email at checkup@cbc.ca.
 
-30-
 
About CBC/Radio-Canada
CBC/Radio-Canada is Canada's national public broadcaster and one of its largest cultural institutions. We are Canada's trusted source of news, information and Canadian entertainment. Deeply rooted in communities all across the country, CBC/Radio-Canada offers diverse content in English, French and eight Aboriginal languages. We also provide international news and information from a uniquely Canadian perspective.
 
For more information including series synopses, press releases, hi-res images, video clips and bios, please visit the CBC Media Centre at cbc.ca/mediacentre.
 
For further information, please contact:
Nicola Makoway, publicist, CBC Radio One
Nicola.Makoway@cbc.ca