CBC SPORTS HEADS TO MILAN FOR EXCLUSIVE COVERAGE OF THE 2018 ISU WORLD FIGURE SKATING CHAMPIONSHIPS, MARCH 21–25

Mar 19, 2018

Live-streams of every event will be available at cbcsports.ca and via the CBC Sports app, with daily broadcast coverage on CBC throughout the competition

 

Tweet this release: bit.ly/2GaJV7E

 

March 19, 2018 – Top figure skaters glide into Milan, Italy, this week for the 2018 ISU World Figure Skating Championships, and CBC Sports will offer more than 60 hours of exclusive Canadian coverage across broadcast and digital platforms. Viewers can continue to cheer on their favourite Canadian and international skaters from PyeongChang 2018, as well as noteworthy fresh faces, from Wednesday through Sunday with coverage offered on CBC and via live-stream at cbcsports.ca and the CBC Sports app for iOS and Android.

CBC Sports’ Road to the Olympic Games team will be enjoying the view in Milan all week, with host Andi Petrillo leading the prime-time and weekend broadcasts beginning on Wednesday, March 21 at 7 p.m. local. Brenda Irving will provide play-by-play commentary, with Olympian and four-time World Champion Kurt Browning, Olympic Games gold medallist and World Champion David Pelletier and renowned coach and choreographer Carol Lane offering further analysis. Olympian and World Champion pairs skater Paul Martini will be at the centre of the action, rink-side, to interview the key competitors, and PJ Kwong will augment coverage online and in social media, with additional insight into the competition. Canadians can follow Kwong on Twitter @skatingpj and join the social conversation using #cbcskate.

Canada is sending a talented and robust team of skaters to the competition, including two men, three women, and three duos each for pairs and ice dance. Reigning World silver medallist and PyeongChang 2018 Olympic bronze medallist Kaetlyn Osmond, and 2017 World bronze medallist Gabrielle Daleman will return to the event in the hopes of securing another podium finish each. Keegan Messing brought his trademark energy to his routines at the Olympic Winter Games and hopes to make an impression in Milan as well. In Ice Dance, Kaitlyn Weaver and Andrew Poje will return to the World Championships hungry for success after having just missed the podium in 2016 and 2017, following their medal finishes in 2014 and 2015 (silver and bronze, respectively). Ice dancers Piper Gilles and Paul Poirier have placed in the top 10 at the World Championships for the past four consecutive years, and aim to improve on their eighth place finish in 2017. Pairs Kirsten Moore-Towers and Michael Marinaro, and Julianne Séguin and Charlie Bilodeau, hope to improve on their top-12 finishes at PyeongChang 2018.

The full broadcast and online streaming schedule is listed below. In addition to the live stream, cbcsports.ca will feature the latest news, highlights and analysis from the World Championships.

Road to the Olympic Games on CBC

 

Wednesday, March 21

  • 7 p.m. local – Women’s and Pairs Short Programs*

 

Thursday, March 22

  • 7 p.m. local – Men’s Short and Pairs Free Programs*

 

Friday, March 23

  • 7 p.m. local – Ice Dance Short and Women’s Free Programs*

 

Saturday, March 24

  • 3 p.m. ET (12 p.m. PT) – Men’s and Ice Dance Free Programs*

 

Monday, April 2

  • 8 p.m. local – Gala*

 

*RTTOG broadcasts will also be available via cbcsports.ca and the CBC Sports app – check for local start times.

 

cbcsports.ca and the CBC Sports app

 

Wednesday, March 21

  • 5:45 a.m. ET (2:45 a.m. PT) – Women’s Short Program
  • 1:20 p.m. ET (10:20 a.m. PT) – Pairs Short Program

 

Thursday, March 22

  • 5:05 a.m. ET (2:05 a.m. PT) – Men’s Short Program
  • 1:55 p.m. ET (10:55 a.m. PT) – Pairs Free Program

 

Friday, March 23

  • 6 a.m. ET (3 a.m. PT) – Ice Dance Short Program
  • 1:30 p.m. ET (10:30 a.m. PT) – Women’s Free Program

 

Saturday, March 24

  • 5 a.m. ET (2 a.m. PT) – Men’s Free Program
  • 10:20 a.m. ET (7:20 a.m. PT) – Ice Dance Free Program

 

Sunday, March 25

  • 8:30 a.m. ET (5:30 a.m. PT) – Gala

 

Social Media:

#Milano2018

#WorldFigure

Twitter: @CBCOlympics

Instagram: @CBCOlympics

Facebook: /CBCOlympics

 

-30-

 

 

About CBC Sports

CBC/Radio-Canada is Canada's Olympic Network through 2024 and Canada's Paralympic Network through 2020. The national public broadcaster is committed to showcasing Canadian and international athletes and sports across all platforms under the CBC Sports and Hockey Night in Canada brands, including on television, online at cbcsports.ca and via the CBC Sports app for iOS and Android devices. CBC Sports prides itself on telling the story of the high-performance athlete's journey every step of the way, ensuring Canadians always know the people who represent them before they see them atop the podium.

 

For further information, please contact:

Tanya Koivusalo, publicist, CBC

tanya.koivusalo@cbc.ca

416-205-8638 (office) 647-649-6067 (mobile)