CBC SPORTS HEADS TO BOSTON FOR EXCLUSIVE MULTIPLATFORM COVERAGE OF THE ISU WORLD FIGURE SKATING CHAMPIONSHIPS, MARCH 30-APRIL 3

Mar 29, 2016
Live streaming coverage of every session will be available at cbcsports.ca and via the CBC Sports app, with afternoon and primetime coverage available on CBC-TV throughout the competition
 
CBC Sports will join the world’s best figure skaters in Boston, MA, this week for exclusive live Canadian coverage of the ISU World Figure Skating Championships from Wednesday through Sunday. Canadian fans will be able to choose how and when to watch with afternoon and primetime coverage on CBC-TV, and live streaming at cbcsports.ca and via the CBC Sports app for iOS and Android devices.
 
Canada will be well represented in Boston with two skaters or teams competing in each discipline, including reigning pairs World Champions Meagan Duhamel and Eric Radford and 2015 ice dance bronze medallists Kaitlyn Weaver and Andrew Poje. Three-time World Champion Patrick Chan will make his return to the men’s competition following his dramatic come-from-behind victory at the ISU Four Continents Figure Skating Championships last month.
 
 
CBC Sports’ Road To The Olympic Games crew will be in Boston all week, with host Scott Russell leading the broadcasts. Russell’s Road To The Olympic Games co-host Andi Petrillo will provide play-by-play commentary for each competition and will be joined in the broadcast booth by CBC Sports’ team of figure skating experts for analysis and insight on the competition.
 
Four-time World Champion Kurt Browning and renowned World and Olympic figure skating coach Carol Lane will join Petrillo for analysis of each event, with Olympic gold medallists and two-time World Champions Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir joining the broadcast as special guests, adding additional insight during the ice dance and pairs competitions. Virtue and Moir will also contribute to CBC Sports’ online coverage at cbcsports.ca. In addition, CBC Sports’ PJ Kwong will augment coverage online and in social media, providing additional insight into the athletes and the competition. Canadians can follow Kwong on Twitter @skatingpj and join the social conversation using #Worlds2016.
 
In addition to the live stream, cbc.ca/olympics will feature the latest news, highlights and analysis from the World Championships. The full TV broadcast schedule and online streaming schedule are available at cbcsports.ca and are also listed below.
 
CBC-TV*
Wednesday, March 30
•2 p.m. ET/CT/MT/PT (3 p.m. AT, 3:30 p.m. NT) - Ice Dance Short Program
•9 p.m. ET/MT/PT (8 p.m. CT, 10 p.m. AT, 10:30 p.m. NT) - Men’s Short Program
 
Thursday, March 31
•4 p.m. ET/CT/MT/PT (5 p.m. AT, 5:30 p.m. NT) - Women’s Short Program
•9 p.m. ET/MT/PT (8 p.m. CT, 10 p.m. AT, 10:30 p.m. NT) - Ice Dance Free Program
 
Friday, April 1
•3 p.m. ET/CT/MT/PT (4 p.m. AT, 4:30 p.m. NT) - Pairs Short Program
•9 p.m. ET/MT/PT (8 p.m. CT, 10 p.m. AT, 10:30 p.m. NT) - Men’s Free Program
 
Saturday, April 2
•4 p.m. ET (1 p.m. PT) - Pairs Free Program
 
Sunday, April 3
•2 p.m. (All markets) - Women’s Free Program
•8 p.m. (All markets) - Gala
*All CBC-TV broadcasts from Mar. 30-Apr. 2 will be available simultaneously via cbcsports.ca and the CBC Sports app
 
cbcsports.ca and the CBC Sports app
Wednesday, March 30
•10:45 a.m. ET (7:45 a.m. PT) - Ice Dance Short Program
•6:15 p.m. ET (3:15 p.m. PT) - Men’s Short Program
 
Thursday, March 31
•12:10 p.m. ET (9:10 a.m. PT) - Women’s Short Program
•7:30 p.m. ET (4:30 p.m. PT) - Ice Dance Free Program
 
Friday, April 1
•1:15 p.m. ET (10:15 a.m. PT) - Pairs Short Program
•6:45 p.m. ET (3:45 p.m. PT) - Men’s Free Program
 
Saturday, April 2
•12:45 p.m. ET (9:45 a.m. PT) - Pairs Free Program
•7 p.m. ET (4 p.m. PT) - Women’s Free Program
 
Sunday, April 3
•2 p.m. ET (11 a.m. PT) - Gala
 
-30-
 
About CBC/Radio-Canada
CBC/Radio-Canada is Canada’s national public broadcaster and one of its largest cultural institutions. The Corporation is a leader in reaching Canadians on new platforms and delivers a comprehensive range of radio, television, internet, and satellite-based services. Deeply rooted in the regions, CBC/Radio-Canada is the only domestic broadcaster to offer diverse regional and cultural perspectives in English, French and eight aboriginal languages.
 
A space for us all is CBC/Radio-Canada’s new strategy to modernize the public broadcaster and ensure that it continues to fulfill its mandate for Canadians and for future generations. Through to 2020, it will increase its investment in prime time television programming, and continue to create radio programs of the highest quality, while promoting the development of digital and mobile platforms and content.
 
For more information including series synopses, press releases, hi-res images, video clips and bios, please visit the CBC Media Centre at cbc.ca/mediacentre.
 
For further information, please contact:
Simon Bassett, publicist, CBC Sports
simon.bassett@cbc.ca
416-205-8533 (office) 416-988-1590 (mobile)