Canada Day

How to watch Canada Day 2020 on CBC

Join us for a birthday celebration with unique artistic collaborations from across the country, hosted by Serena Ryder and Pierre-Yves Lord

A birthday celebration with unique artistic collaborations hosted by Serena Ryder and Pierre-Yves Lord

Serena Ryder and Pierre-Yves Lord host Canada Day Across the Country and Canada Day Together. (Kayla Rocca, Andréanne Gauthier)

On July 1, CBC and Canadian Heritage are bringing you Oh Canada, and Canadians from coast to coast to coast are invited to take part in an array of virtual celebrations to express our national pride.

This year more than ever, Canada Day is a celebration of how resilient and united Canadians are, always standing together when it really matters, even if it has to be virtually.

Schedule

CBC News: Canada Day Special — 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. ET (12:00 p.m. AT/ 12:30 p.m. NT/ 10:00 a.m. CT/ 9:00 a.m. MT/ 8:00 a.m. PT)

This two-hour special will be hosted by The National's Andrew Chang. As the country begins to re-open and re-examine, a reminder that as a nation, proof that when faced with adversity, we come together. A huge thank you to all the frontline workers, and all the people who helped us manage life with COVID-19. 

Reporters and hosts:  

  • Louise Martin - PEI 

  • Tashauna Reid - Toronto

  • Cameron MacIntosh - Winnipeg

  • David Thurton - Ottawa

  • Shaina Luck - Halifax

  • Lieu Yeung - Vancouver

  • Mark Critch - St. John's

Available to watch on CBC, CBC News Network and CBC Gem.

Canada Day Across the Country — 1:00 p.m. ET (2:00 p.m. AT/ 2:30 p.m. NT/ 12:00 p.m. CT/ 11:00 a.m. MT/ 10:00 a.m. PT)

The Canada Day Daytime Show brings you a virtual tour of the festivities. Join Serena Ryder and Pierre-Yves Lord on a trip to meet talented artists from Yellowknife, Calgary, Winnipeg, Sudbury, Montreal, Quebec City and Moncton. 

Featuring:

  • Paul Brandt

  • Marc Hervieux

  • Julie Nesrallah

  • National Arts Centre Orchestra

  • Laurence Nerbonne and Sarahmée

  • Leela Gilday

  • Atlantic Ballet of Canada

  • Sierra Noble, Faouzia, Kelly Bado, Olivia Lunny, JP Hoe and Jason Burnstick

  • Patricia Cano

The events of the day draw on what makes Canada strong: its diverse cultures, athletic and artistic excellence, Indigenous languages and cultures, and our spirit of innovation. We will also honour the hard work of our frontline responders.

This year we are celebrating historic milestones: It is the 40th anniversary of the official adoption of our national anthem, "O Canada," and we will salute the key role of the Métis Nation in bringing Manitoba into Confederation 150 years ago.

(From left to right) Leela Gilday, Marc Hervieux, Patricia Cano are among the performers lined up for Canada Day Across the Country. (Courtesy Leela Gilday, Marc Hervieux, Patricia Cano)

Canada Day Together — 8:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. local time (8:30 NT)

The day wraps up with a new take on Canada's annual iconic celebration. Ryder and Lord will bring you original artistic collaborations from all over the country with stops in Halifax, Toronto and Vancouver. 

Featuring:

  • Alanis Morissette

  • Avril Lavigne

  • Sarah McLachlan

  • Shane Koyczan

  • Charlotte Cardin

  • Loud

  • Roxane Bruneau

  • Alan Doyle

  • The Sheepdogs

  • Corneille

  • Alexandra Stréliski

  • Joel Plaskett

  • Ria Mae

  • Alex Nevsky

  • Radio Radio and Damien Robitaille

  • Haviah Mighty

  • The Jerry Cans

  • Natasha Kanapé Fontaine

  • Guillaume Côté, The National Ballet of Canada

  • Vanesa Garcia-Ribala Montoya, Les Grands Ballets Canadiens

  • Alanna McAdie, Royal Winnipeg Ballet

The night winds down with a montage of the best Canada Day fireworks from past years.

(From left to right) Alanis Morissette, Corneille, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine are among the performers lined up for Canada Day Together. (Courtesy Alanis Morissette. Credit Kevin Millet, Julie Artacho)

How to watch

Watch the broadcast live on CBC Television or stream it live on CBC Gem. Download the CBC Gem app from iTunes or Google Play, or watch it in your web browser. Sign up for a free membership on CBC Gem to watch the show stream live in your region.

Canada Day Across the Country and Canada Day Together will additionally be live streamed on CBC's YouTube channel.

You can also watch the same bilingual broadcast on Radio-Canada.

Contest

now