Watch the 2018 Indspire Awards

Tune in June 24 at 8 p.m. (8:30 p.m. NT) on CBC, APTN, CBC Radio One to watch the 25th anniversary of the Indspire Awards, honouring Indigenous talent from across Canada.

The awards will broadcast nationwide on June 24, 8 p.m. (8:30 p.m. NT) on CBC, CBC Radio One and

Watch Indigenous talent shine at the Indspire Awards on June 24. 0:15

::Watch the 2018 Indspire Awards Online

This March, the Indspire Awards, an event honouring Indigenous success and achievement, celebrated its 25th anniversary in Winnipeg, Manitoba. If you missed this stellar event, we're hosting a simulcast of awards on June 24 at 8 p.m. (8:30 p.m. NT) on CBC Television, APTN, CBC Radio One and

Celebrating exceptional First Nations, Inuit, and Métis individuals, this year's Awards highlighted the significant contributions of Indigenous people in Canada. Here's what you can expect:

The hosts

This year's show was co-hosted by award-winning comedian and screenwriter Darrell Dennis (Moccasin Flats) and actor Kyle Nobess (Mohawk Girls).

(Darrell Dennis and Kyle Nobess, Hosts of the 2018 Indspire Awards)

Music and dance performances

(Tree of Life - Asham Stompers, The 2018 Indspire Awards)

The 2018 Indspire Awards also features special performances by Indigenous talent from across Canada. This year's list includes:

  • Indian City led by Vince Fontaine (2018 Juno-nominated)
  • Sanikiluaq singer and songwriter Kelly Fraser (2018 Juno-nominated)
  • Dancer and choreographer Santee Smith
  • Singer, composer, and producer Jennifer Kreisberg (Genie Award winner for Best Achievement in Music)
  • Classically trained Canadian cellist Cris Derksen, with members of the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra.
  • Dance troupe Asham Stompers, with 13-year-old twin fiddler brothers Double the Trouble and Gustin Adjun.

The presenters

(Indspire Youth Presenters Tantoo Cardinal, Johnny Issaluk and Rosanna Deerchild)

The Youth Award presenters will be award-winning Canadian film and TV actress Tantoo CardinalRosanna Deerchild, host of Unreserved on CBC Radio, and community leader, Arctic Sports coach, and Inuit High Jumper, Johnny Issaluk.

The live voice over artist for the show is broadcaster, voice artist, actor, and Winnipeg local Holly Bernier.

The recipients

From fine arts to entrepreneurship, from first Indigenous graduate of the University of British Columbia to the first Inuk surgeon, the awards are bestowed on Indigenous role models of the past, present, and future.

The 2018 Indspire Awards recipients are:

  • Lifetime Achievement: Dr. Gloria Cranmer Webster, 'Namgis First Nation, BC
  • Arts: Greg Hill, Kanyen'kehaka at Six Nations of the Grand River Territory, ON
  • Business & Commerce: Nicole Bourque-Bouchier, Mikisew Cree First Nation, AB
  • Culture, Heritage & Spirituality: Kye7e Cecilia Dick DeRose, Secwepemc Nation, BC
  • Culture, Heritage & Spirituality: Theland Kicknosway, Walpole Island Bkejwanong Territory, ON
  • Education: Dr. Lorna Wanosts'a7 Williams, Lil'wat Nation, BC
  • Health: Dr. Evelyn Voyageur, Musgamagw Dzawada'enuxw, BC
  • Law & Justice: Paul Chartrand, Métis, St. Laurent, MB
  • Public Service: Dr. Mike DeGagné, Animakee Wa Zhing, ON
  • Sports: Michael Linklater, Thunderchild First Nation, SK
  • Youth – First Nation: Ashley Callingbull, Enoch Cree Nation, AB
  • Youth – Inuit: Donna May Kimmaliardjuk, Nunavut, Inuit Nunangat
  • Youth – Métis: Tracie Léost, Métis, St. Laurent, MB
(Indspire Youth Award Recipients Ashley Callingbull, Dr. Donna May Kimmaliardjuk, Tracie Léost)

Read more about these winners: First Inuk surgeon, National Gallery curator, CEO honoured with Indspire awards

Indspire is an Indigenous-led charity that invests in the education of Indigenous people through scholarships and bursaries to Indigenous students across the country.

Brought to you by: