How to watch the 2020 Indspire Awards

The 2020 Indspire Awards airs Sunday, June 21 at 8 p.m. (8:30 p.m. NT) on CBC TV, CBC Gem, CBC Radio One, the CBC Listen app and APTN

Trailer: 2020 Indspire Awards

2 years ago
Duration 0:15
The 2020 Indspire Awards airs on CBC TV, CBC Radio One, APTN and CBC Gem Sunday June 21 @ 8/8:30NT

Celebrate Indigenous excellence

In early March 2020, the Indspire Awards were held in Ottawa, Ontario. It was one of the last public events before the pandemic shut the country down, placing group celebrations and events on hold. Revisit this beautiful night, honouring some of the brightest lights from Indigenous communities across Canada.

The Indspire Awards bestow the highest honour on Indigenous people who have made significant contributions to Indigenous education, arts, culture, business, health, law, sports and public service in Canada as well as three youth awards to First Nations, Inuit and Métis role models.

"This celebration of Indigenous excellence, recognizing as it does the accomplishments of these 10 extraordinary First Nations, Inuit, and Métis change-makers, is a truly inspiring one," said Roberta Jamieson, President and CEO of Indspire. "We are honoured to share their stories through the 2020 Indspire Awards, and we hope that their work and their words will uplift and inspire all Canadians, both Indigenous and non-Indigenous."


How to watch

There's plenty of ways to tune in!

The 2020 Indspire Awards will broadcast nationwide on Sunday, June 21 at 8 p.m. (8:30 p.m. NT) on CBC TV, CBC GemCBC Radio One, the CBC Listen app and APTN. 

Stream it online

You can stream it on the free CBC Gem app on June 21 at 8pm (8:30 p.m. NT).

No smart device? No problem! Access CBC Gem on your computer's browser here.

Watch on television

Tune in to CBC TV or APTN on June 21 at 8pm (8:30 p.m. NT).

Hear it on the radio

Adjust your dial to the CBC Radio One station in your region on June 21 at 8pm (8:30 p.m. NT).

Listen online with the CBC Listen app or tune in online using the CBC Listen website here.

Red carpet fashion at the 2020 Indspire Awards

2 years ago
Duration 3:44
The 2020 Indspire Awards airs on CBC TV, CBC Radio One, APTN and CBC Gem Sunday June 21 @ 8/8:30NT

2020 Indspire Awards co-hosts

Actress and artist Tiffany Ayalik hosts 'Wild Kitchen' and Craig Lauzon appears in the upcoming CBC TV show 'Trickster.' (2020 Indspire Awards)

This year's show is co-hosted by actress and Juno Award-winning artist Tiffany Ayalik and comedic performer Craig Lauzon.

Youth Award Presenters

Anthony Johnson (left) and Dr. James Makokis (right) won season 7 of 'The Amazing Race Canada' together in 2019. (Sara Cornthwaite/Indspire)

Presenting the awards for First Nations, Inuit and Métis youth are Dr. James Makokis and Anthony Johnson.

2020 Indspire Awards Performers

The '2020 Indspire Awards' includes some incredible performances from young artists. (2020 Indspire Awards)

The 2020 Indspire Awards included these amazing Indigenous artists from across the nation:

  • Adrian Sutherland & Midnight Shine
  • Genevieve Fisher
  • Tom Wilson
  • iskwē | ᐃᐢᑫᐧᐤ
  • Chuck Copenace
  • Leela Gilday

Youth performers include:

  • Theland Kicknosway
  • Mary Stinchcombe
  • Jonathan Fraser-Monroe
  • William Komaksiutiksak
  • Semiah Kaha:wi Smith
Alicia Aragutak recieves an Inspire Award for achievement in the Youth (Inuit) category. (2020 Indspire Awards)

2020 Indspire Awards Recipients

  • Ta'Kaiya Blaney – Youth (First Nations)
  • Alicia Aragutak – Youth (Inuit)
  • Alana Robert – Youth (Métis)
  • Dawn Madahbee Leach – Business & Commerce
  • Claudette Commanda – Culture, Heritage & Spirituality
  • Candice Lys – Education
  • Karen Lawford – Health
  • Marian Jacko – Law & Justice
  • Gina Wilson – Public Service
  • Jeannette Corbiere Lavell – Lifetime Achievement