How to watch the 2019 Indspire Awards on CBC

Stream the 26th annual Indspire Awards now on CBC Gem, honouring Indigenous talent from across Canada.

Stream the 2019 Indspire Awards on CBC Gem

2019 Indspire Awards – Promo

2 years ago
Watch Indigenous talent shine at the Indspire Awards on June 23. 0:15

This February, the Indspire Awards, an event honouring Indigenous success and achievement, celebrated its 26th anniversary in Calgary, Alberta. If you missed this stellar event, you can stream it on CBC Gem.

For the best online experience, download the free CBC Gem app.

Android: download from Google Play

Apple: download from iTunes 

Apple TV: find the CBC Gem app on the iTunes TV app store

Celebrating exceptional First Nations, Inuit, and Métis individuals, this year's Awards highlighted the significant contributions of Indigenous people in Canada. Here's what you can expect:

The hosts

This year's show was co-hosted by accomplished actresses Kaniehtiio Horn (Letterkenny) and Michelle Thrush (Blackstone).

(Kaniehtiio Horn and Michelle Thrush, hosts of the 2019 Indspire Awards)

Music and dance performances

(Singer-songwriter and rapper Joey Stylez, The 2019 Indspire Awards)

The 2019 Indspire Awards also features special performances by Indigenous talent from across Canada. This year's list includes:

  • Musician Pat Vegas (Redbone)
  • R&B/hip-hop artist PJ Vegas
  • Pow-Wow group Northern Cree Singers
  • Choreographer Christine Friday
  • Classically trained operatic tenor and composer Jeremy Dutcher
  • Singer-songwriter and rapper Joey Stylez
  • Singer-songrwriter and guitarist Derek Miller
  • Traditional Grass Dancer and drummer Spirit Eagle
  • Singer Carsen Gray
  • Singer-songwriter and bass player Shakti Hayes
  • Singer-songwriter Beatrice Love
  • Electro-pop performer and composer Wolf Saga

The presenters

(Indspire Youth Presenters Eugene Brave Rock, Tiffany Ayalik and Cherie Dimaline)

The Youth Award presenters will be film and TV actress Tiffany Ayalik, bestselling novelist Cherie Dimaline and film and TV actor Eugene Brave Rock.

The live voice over artist for the show is broadcaster, voice artist, actor, and Winnipeg local Holly Bernier.

The recipients

From fine arts to entrepreneurship, from first woman president of the University of Regina to the first First Nations woman drafted to Canada's Olympic women's hockey team, the awards are bestowed on Indigenous role models of the past, present, and future.

The 2019 Indspire Awards recipients are:

  • Lifetime Achievement: Atuat Akittirq, Aggu, Nvt.
  • Arts: Barbara Todd Hager, St. Paul des Métis Settlement, Alta.
  • Business & Commerce: Grand Chief Ron Derrickson, Westbank First Nation, B.C.
  • Culture, Heritage & Spirituality: Jijuu Mary Snowshoe, Gwich'in Nation, N.W.T.
  • Education: Dr. Vianne Timmons, Mi'kmaq, N.S.
  • Health: Dr. Marlyn Cook, Misipawistik Cree Nation, Man.
  • Law & Justice: Dianne Corbiere, M'Chigeeng First Nation, Ont.
  • Public Service: Peter Dinsdale, Curve Lake First Nation, Ont.
  • Sports: Brigette Lacquette, Mallard, Man. and Cote First Nation, Sask.
  • Youth – First Nation: Billy-Ray Belcourt, Driftpile Cree Nation, Alta.
  • Youth – Inuit: Kelly Fraser, Sanikiluaq, Nvt.
  • Youth – Métis: James Lavallée, Métis Homeland (St. Vital, St. Boniface, Bissett), Man.
(Indspire Youth Award Recipient Kelly Fraser)

Read more about these winners: Métis kayaker and Cree doctor among this year's Indspire Award winners

Indspire is an Indigenous-led charity that invests in the education of Indigenous people through scholarships and bursaries to Indigenous students across the country.