Party Candidate Votes Status
244/244 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
PC Jim McDonell 19,457 Elected
LIB John Earle 9,287
NDP Elaine MacDonald 8,374
GRN Sharron Norman 1,047
LTN Shawn McRae 608

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

This eastern Ontario riding lies on the north shore of the St. Lawrence River up to the Quebec border. It contains the townships of South Glengarry, North Stormont, South Stormont, North Dundas and South Dundas.

The city of Cornwall accounts for about half of the riding's population. The rest of the riding is largely rural and includes Winchester, Chesterville, Iroquois, Finch, Morrisburg and the part of the Akwesasne Indian Reserve that is in Ontario.

The 2007 redistribution incorporated 95 per cent of Stormont-Dundas-Charlottenburgh and a small section of Glengarry-Prescott-Russell.

Population:100,913 (2011 census; an increase of 1.2% since 2006)

Political history

In 2011, Progressive Conservative Jim McDonell defeated Liberal Mark MacDonald by 13,050 votes.  

In 2007 the Liberals again won the riding as Jim Brownell beat PC Chris Savard by 3,866 votes. Brownell later decided not to run again.

He was first elected in 2003, when he beat Tory Todd Lalonde by 5,637 votes in Stormont-Dundas-Charlottenburgh.

In 1999, Liberal John Cleary was narrowly elected to the newly formed Stormont-Dundas-Charlottenburgh by a margin of only 640 votes over PC Noble Villeneuve.

2011 Provincial Election Results



Total votes


PC Jim McDonell 21,615 55.24
LIB Mark A. MacDonald 8,483 21.68
NDP Elaine MacDonald 8,078 20.64
GRN Justin Reist 553 1.41
LTN Darcy Neal Donnelly 400 1.02



Unemployment Rate
Provincial 6.4%
National 6.6%
Provincial 13.56%
National 13.71%
Home Owners
Provincial 26.61%
National 26.92%
Avg Family Income
Provincial $90,526
National $82,325
Provincial 28%
National 20%
Post-Secondary Degree
Provincial 33.54%
National 33.35%

Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census

2014 Candidates

Conservative   Jim McDonell
Liberal   John Earle
NDP   Elaine MacDonald
Green   Sharron Norman
Libertarian   Shawn McRae