Party Candidate Votes Status
382/382 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
LIB Helena Jaczek 36,858 Elected
PC Farid Wassef 30,259
NDP Miles Krauter 9,483
GRN Emilia Melara 2,762
LTN Karl Boelling 1,384
TPO Gennady Vilensky 233

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

This southern Ontario riding, north of Toronto, has been created because of rapid growth in York Region.

The riding contains the town of Whitchurch-Stouffville and part of King Township lying south of Highway 9. It also contains part of the town of Richmond Hill northeast of Gamble Road, Yonge Street and Elgin Mills Road East, and part of the town of Markham northeast of 16th Avenue, McCowan Road and Highway 7.

As a result of the 1999 redistribution, Oak Ridges combined 20 per cent of Durham-York, 40 per cent of York Centre and a small portion of Markham.

The 2007 redistribution added 25 per cent of the Markham riding as well as parts of Vaughan-King-Aurora and York North.

Population: 228,997 in 2011 (an increase from 169,642 in the 2006 census)

Political history

Liberal Helen Jaczek defeated Progressive Conservative Farid Wassef by 4,928 votes in 2011. Jaczek had previously won over Progressive Conservative Phil Bannon by 7,197 votes in the 2007 election.

In the old Oak Ridges in 2003, PC Frank Klees triumphed over Jaczek by 2,143 votes in the old Oak Ridges riding in the 2003 election. Klees was re-elected in 2007 in the new riding of Newmarket-Aurora.

The former York North riding was a conservative stronghold from 1945 on, except for a brief Liberal period in the late 1980s and early 1990s. Liberal Charles Beer won the riding in 1987 and was re-elected in 1990. Beer lost to Klees in 1995; Klees was re-elected in the new riding of Oak Ridges in 1999.

In the old Markham riding, Tory Don Cousens won in 1987 and 1990 before leaving provincial politics to become the town's mayor. Tsubouchi won the riding for the Progressive Conservatives in 1995 and again in 1999, serving in the cabinets of Mike Harris and Ernie Eves.

2011 Provincial Election Results



Total votes


LIB Helena Jaczek 28,722 44.73
PC Farid Wassef 23,569 36.71
NDP Joe Whitfeld 8,444 13.15
GRN Trifon Haitas 1,731 2.70
LTN Karl Boelling 1,115 1.74
IND Ruida Lu 630 0.98



Unemployment Rate
Provincial 6.4%
National 6.6%
Provincial 13.56%
National 13.71%
Home Owners
Provincial 26.61%
National 26.92%
Avg Family Income
Provincial $90,526
National $82,325
Provincial 28%
National 20%
Post-Secondary Degree
Provincial 33.54%
National 33.35%

Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census

2014 Candidates

Conservative   Farid Wassef
Liberal   Helena Jaczek
NDP   Miles Krauter
Green   Emilia Melara
Libertarian    Karl Boelling
Trillium Party TPO    Gennady Vilensky