Current MLA:


New constituency



Eva Aariak
Travis Cooper
George Hickes
Gideonie Joamie
Patterk Netser

Constituency Profile:


Iqaluit – Tasiluk takes in the Happy Valley neighborhood as well as newer developments along the famous Road to Nowhere (which actually leads to a gravel pit, firing range and excellent hiking and swimming areas – weather permitting).

Happy Valley is older and more socially and economically mixed; it includes co-op and public housing as well as many private homes.


The Road to Nowhere subdivision is made of affluent, single-family homes and some new apartment buildings. Earlier this fall, the City of Iqaluit approved plans to develop another subdivision along the Road to Nowhere, as the population of the capital continues to grow.


Happy Valley was previously part of Iqaluit East; the Road to Nowhere was previously part of Iqaluit Centre.




Without a doubt, this will be a race to watch as Premier Eva Aariak takes on former cabinet minister Patterk Netser.

Aariak, a teacher by training, first came to politics in 2008 and was unexpectedly selected as premier. She’s already said she won’t be seeking the top job again, but she remains a high profile opponent.


Netser, originally from Coral Harbour, won his seat there in a 2003-by-election and again in 2004. After losing his seat to Johnny Ningeongan in 2008, Netser stayed on in Iqaluit to work as Leona Aglukkaq’s constituency assistant.


The three other candidates could lend this race an interesting dynamic.


2008 Iqaluit East
Eva Aariak    439  (63%)
Kakki Peter      39   (5%)
Glenn Williams     221  (31%)

Turnout   73% (official)


2004 Iqaluit East
John Amagoalik    186  (23%)
Norman Ishulutak    50  (6%)
Ed Picco    569   (71%)

Turnout   86%


1999 Iqaluit East
Edward Picco    490      (73%)
Natsiq Kango    180      (27%)

Turnout    98%


1995 Iqaluit
Edward Picco   695   (48%)
Mary Ekho-Wilman   644   (45%)
Gordon McIntosh    100   (7%)

Turnout     105%

1991 Iqaluit
Dennis Patterson   866   (60%)
Val Haas    405   (28%)
Bryan Pearson    169   (12%)

Turnout    90%