Party Candidate Votes Status
50/50 polls Updated: Oct. 9, 2013 12:03 AM EDT
PC Alfie MacLeod 4,178 Elected
LIB Josephine Kennedy 3,797
NDP Delton McDonald 1,574

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Nova Scotia. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

District profile:

This is a largely rural area, stretching across much of eastern Cape Breton. The district extends right across to the Atlantic coast, taking in smaller, scattered communities such as Louisbourg and Marion Bridge on the Mira River.

The district also takes in the suburban area just outside Sydney consisting of Mira Road, Sydney River, Howie Centre and Sydney Forks.

This is a generally prosperous area. Tourism, including the Fortress of Louisbourg, and a service-based economy generate most of the jobs. Fishing is important particularly along the Atlantic coast.

In 2012, the provincial electoral district boundaries were redrawn and the new district of Sydney River-Mira-Louisbourg was created by combining portions of the former districts of Cape Breton West, Cape Breton South and Cape Breton Nova.

Political history:

This district does not have an incumbent candidate due to the electoral boundary changes made in 2012. Sydney River-Mira-Louisbourg was created with 78 per cent of the former district of Cape Breton West, 18 per cent of the former district of Cape Breton South and 7 per cent of the former district of Cape Breton Nova.

In the 2009 general election, Progressive Conservative Alfie MacLeod was elected in the old district of Cape Breton West with more than 1,200 votes separating him from his closest competitor, New Democrat Delton McDonald.

Cape Breton West was traditionally dominated by Russell MacKinnon, a land surveyor by training, who loomed large over the riding for almost two decades.

He was first elected in 1988, as a Liberal. Then, he resigned the seat in 1995 to protest his government's creation of the Cape Breton Regional Municipality, a forced amalgamation of several smaller municipalities.

MacLeod won the seat in the byelection that followed, but MacKinnon won it back as a Liberal in 1998.

Then, after winning re-election in both 1999 and 2003, MacKinnon split with the Liberals in April 2005 after what he called "a difference of opinion." He sat as an Independent and was not on the ballot a year later when MacLeod reclaimed the seat for the Progressive Conservatives.