Party Candidate Votes Status
49/49 polls Updated: Oct. 9, 2013 12:03 AM EDT
NDP Gordie Gosse 5,084 Elected
LIB Derek Mombourquette 4,511
PC Leslie MacPhee 703

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Nova Scotia. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

District profile:

This is an urban riding that takes in most of the city of Sydney and the community of Whitney Pier. It also includes the Membertou First Nation.

Most people work in the service and trade sectors.

In 2012, the provincial electoral district boundaries were redrawn and the new district of Sydney-Whitney Pier was created with portions of the former districts of Cape Breton Nova and Cape Breton South.

Political history:

This district does not have an incumbent candidate due to the electoral boundary changes made in 2012. Sydney-Whitney Pier was created with 79 per cent of the former district of Cape Breton Nova and 59 per cent of the former district of Cape Breton South.

In the 2009 general election, New Democrat Gordie Gosse was elected in the former district of Cape Breton Nova and Liberal Manning MacDonald was elected in the old district of Cape Breton South.

Beginning in 1970, Paul MacEwan represented Cape Breton Nova for more than three decades. He proved unbeatable, no matter which party he represented — including the NDP, his own Cape Breton Labour Party and, finally, the Liberals.

After MacEwan retired, Cape Breton Nova was considered a swing riding. In 2003, Gosse was elected, but just barely. He has since cemented his grip on the riding by taking 71 per cent of the vote in the last election.

Cape Breton South, meanwhile, has been considered a safe Liberal seat for the past 35 years.

Former Liberal leader Vince MacLean was the MLA there for almost 20 years, beginning in 1974.

In 1993, Liberal Manning MacDonald stepped in to claim the seat. The former mayor of Sydney has represented Cape Breton South ever since.