Party Candidate Votes Status
65/65 polls Updated: Oct. 9, 2013 12:03 AM EDT
NDP Sterling Belliveau 3,066 Elected
PC Bruce Inglis 2,703
LIB Benson Frail 2,286
GRN Madeline Taylor 211

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Nova Scotia. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

District profile:

The district of Queens-Shelburne includes the towns of Liverpool, Lockeport and Shelburne, as well as large rural areas in Queens County.

The Hank Snow Country Music Centre and the wilderness beauty of the Kejimkujik Seaside Adjunct are tourist draws.

Fishing and forestry are still important to the local economy, although the region took a hit last year when Resolute Forest Products Ltd. closed the former Bowater-Mersey paper mill near Liverpool and 320 people were thrown out of work.

Nova Scotia's government has since added $117.7 million to the debt to acquire a large tract of private forest land that belonged to Resolute Forest Products Ltd. The province now controls 220,000 hectares of woodlands in the province’s southwestern region, along with a power generation plant, a factory site and the wood fibre inventory of the defunct paper mill.

In 2012, the provincial electoral district boundaries were redrawn and the new district of Queens-Shelburne was created by combining portions of the former districts of Queens, Shelburne and Digby-Annapolis.

The western border of this district is the municipal boundary separating the Municipality of Barrington and the Municipality of the District of Shelburne.

Political history:

This district does not have an incumbent candidate due to the electoral boundary changes made in 2012. Queens-Shelburne was created with 89 per cent of the former district of Queens, 46 per cent of the former district of Shelburne and 1 per cent of the former district of Digby-Annapolis.

In the 2009 general election, New Democrat Vicki Conrad was elected in the old district of Queens for the second time in a row.

Conrad originally unseated Progressive Conservative incumbent Kerry Morash by 55 votes in 2006, breaking a 50-year hold the Tories had on the district.