Party Candidate Votes Status
54/54 polls Updated: Oct. 9, 2013 12:03 AM EDT
PC Eddie Orrell 4,180 Elected
LIB John H. Higgins 3,715
NDP Cecil Snow 1,598

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Nova Scotia. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

District profile:

Northside-Westmount is an urban riding taking in Westmount, North Sydney and Sydney Mines in the Cape Breton Regional Municipality.

The main industries are fishing, tourism and the service sector.

In 2012, the provincial electoral district boundaries were redrawn and the new district of Northside-Westmount was created from portions of the former districts of Cape Breton North and Cape Breton South.

Political history:

This district does not have an incumbent candidate due to the electoral boundary changes made in 2012. Northside-Westmount was created with 95 per cent of the former district of Cape Breton North and 23 per cent of the former district of Cape Breton South.

In the 2009 general election, Progressive Conservative Cecil Clarke was elected in the old district of Cape Breton North. He resigned two years later to run for the Conservatives in the federal election, but didn’t win.

Progressive Conservative Eddie Orrell won the district in a byelection in 2011, finishing more than 1,700 votes ahead of his nearest rival, New Democrat Russell MacDonald.

For much of the 1990s, the Liberals held this area. After Premier Russell MacLellan resigned, however, the riding went to Clarke in a March 2001 byelection.

Clarke, who is now the mayor of the Cape Breton Regional Municipality, won four election in the former district of Cape Breton North and was a shining light for the Tories in Cape Breton as he has served as Speaker of the House of Assembly and Attorney General and Justice Minister.