Party Candidate Votes Status
47/47 polls Updated: Oct. 9, 2013 12:03 AM EDT
LIB Gordon L. Wilson 5,122 Elected
PC Paul Emile LeBlanc 2,911
NDP Dean Kenley 842
IND Ian Thurber 492

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Nova Scotia. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

District profile:

This district, located in Digby County in southwest Nova Scotia, has a large French-speaking population. It's home to the province's only French-language university, Université Ste-Anne at Church Point, and North America's oldest Acadian festival.

Lobster and scallop catches in St. Mary's Bay and along the Fundy coast are critical to the economy.

Boat building, including pleasure craft as well as fishing trawlers, has boomed in recent years.

In 2012, the provincial electoral district boundaries were redrawn and the new district of Clare-Digby was created by combining the former district of Clare and expanding eastward to include the remainder of Digby County, previously included in the district of Digby-Annapolis.

Political history:

This district does not have an incumbent candidate due to the electoral boundary changes made in 2012. Clare-Digby was created with 100 per cent of the former district of Clare and 76 per cent of the former district of Digby-Annapolis.

In the 2009 general election, Liberal Wayne Gaudet was elected in the former district of Clare.

The area has generally voted Liberal since the 1970s, with the exception of the 1984 and 1988 elections, when Clare chose the government side and elected Progressive Conservative Guy LeBlanc.

Gaudet, a former education minister and interim Liberal leader, has won his seat for the last six elections.