Party Candidate Votes Status
40/40 polls Updated: Oct. 9, 2013 12:03 AM EDT
NDP Denise Peterson-Rafuse 3,341 Elected
PC Janet E. Irwin 3,193
LIB Tim W. Harris 2,943

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Nova Scotia. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

District profile:

This district was carved out from areas of both Lunenburg and Halifax counties in the 1993 redistribution. In 2012, the provincial electoral district boundaries were once again redrawn and Chester-St. Margaret's lost the Upper Tantallon area north of Highway 103 to the newly created district of Hammonds Plains-Lucasville.

Chester-St. Margaret's includes the Municipality of Chester, the home of sailors during Chester Race Week and a favourite summer place for the wealthy. Oak Island Resort and Ross Farm in New Ross are other tourism draws.

The village of Peggys Cove — Nova Scotia's No. 1 tourist attraction — and the rugged coastal hamlets of Indian Harbour and Seabright also form part of this district.

There are also many Halifax commuters living in subdivisions clustered in and around St. Margaret's Bay.

Political history:

This district has been represented by each of the three major parties in the last two decades.

A Liberal was elected in 1993 but defeated in the next election by Progressive Conservative Hinrich Bitter-Suermann. In 1998, Bitter-Suermann left the party to sit as an Independent. He ran the next time around as a member of the NDP and lost by less than 40 votes.

The seat remained Tory blue for more than a decade until 2009, when New Democrat Denise Peterson-Rafuse was elected in the orange wave that saw Nova Scotia elect its first NDP government.

  • 2009: New Democrat Denise-Peterson Rafuse is elected with 48 per cent of the total vote, followed by Progressive Conservative Judy Streatch at 27 per cent.
  • 2006: Judy Streatch elected with almost 43 per cent of the total vote. The NDP finish second.
  • 2005: Judy Streatch wins a byelection by 407 votes in a three-way race with the Liberals and NDP.
  • 2003: Progressive Conservative John Chataway defeats New Democrat Hinrich Bitter-Suermann by a 39-vote margin. Chataway died in December 2004, forcing a byelection the following year.
  • 1999: John Chataway defeats Hinrich Bitter-Suermann of the NDP by 1,095 votes, while Liberal Karen Willis-Duerden finishes third.
  • 1998: Hinrich Bitter-Suermann elected under the Progressive Conservative banner, defeating Liberal Jim Barkhouse by 103 votes. Bitter-Suermann later resigned from the caucus and sat as an Independent before joining the NDP.
  • 1993: Jim Barkhouse defeats Progressive Conservative Aileen Heisler by 2,140 votes, while New Democrat Jack Ross is third.