Party Candidate Votes Status
45/45 polls Updated: Oct. 9, 2013 12:03 AM EDT
LIB Michel P. Samson 4,390 Elected
PC Joe Janega 1,696
NDP Bert Lewis 1,667

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Nova Scotia. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

District profile:

Another of Cape Breton's rural districts, Cape Breton-Richmond starts at the heavily industrialized community of Point Tupper and continues up the Atlantic coast.

Outside the industrialized area of Point Tupper, the main occupations in this district are fisheries, forestry and tourism. Richmond County includes the Chapel Island Reserve and the communities of St. Peter's and Arichat.

There is a large francophone component to this riding because it includes the Acadian island of Isle Madame.

In 2012, the provincial electoral district boundaries were redrawn and the new district of Cape Breton-Richmond was created by combining the former district of Richmond and adding the area southwest of the Portage and Sandfield areas and west of the Mira River from the former electoral district of Cape Breton West.

Political history:

This district does not have an incumbent candidate due to the electoral boundary changes made in 2012. Cape Breton-Richmond was created with 100 per cent of the former district of Richmond, 18 per cent of the former district of Inverness and 6 per cent of the former district of Cape Breton West.

In the 2009 general election, Liberal Michel Samson was elected in the old district of Richmond — a seat he has held since 1998 when he became the youngest member ever elected to the Nova Scotia legislature at the age of 25.

Observers say the former district of Richmond was often split down cultural and linguistic lines.