Party Candidate Votes Status
37/37 polls Updated: Oct. 9, 2013 12:03 AM EDT
LIB Randy Delorey 3,882 Elected
PC Darren Thompson 2,868
NDP Maurice (Moe) Smith 2,323

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Nova Scotia. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

District profile:

The riding of Antigonish faces St. Georges Bay and includes the town and county of Antigonish, the Acadian community of Pomquet and the Mi'kmaq community of Afton.

The area bills itself as a good place to retire, with household incomes and education levels above the provincial average.

Antigonish is a college town, home to St. Francis Xavier University and the Coady International Institute. The town also acts as a retail and service centre for all of northeastern Nova Scotia.

In Antigonish County, lobster fishing, forestry and farming are major economic drivers. Tourism and the Sable Offshore Project provide a limited number of jobs.

In 2012, the provincial electoral district boundaries were redrawn and Antigonish lost the area east of the Tracadie River to the newly created district of East Nova.

Political history:

For almost three decades, this was Liberal territory. Bill Gillis held the seat from 1970 to 1998 and when Gillis retired, Hyland Fraser took up the Liberal banner.

Progressive Conservative Angus MacIsaac ended that streak in 1999. He returned to politics after several years away and won by just a dozen votes to shift the district to Tory blue.

MacIsaac held the seat for a decade, serving in several cabinet roles in the provincial government. He was re-elected in 2009 but abruptly resigned several months later, citing family reasons.

New Democrat Maurice Smith won a byelection later that year on his third attempt at the seat, beating out Progressive Conservative candidate Darren Thompson.

  • 2009: New Democrat Maurice Smith wins a byelection with 3,310 votes, ahead of Progressive Conservative candidate Darren Thompson at 2,855 votes.
  • 2009: Progressive Conservative incumbent Angus MacIsaac defeats Maurice Smith by a margin of 275 votes.
  • 2006: Angus MacIsaac defeats Liberal Daniel MacIsaac by almost 1,700 votes.
  • 2003: Angus MacIsaac takes 4,256 votes to defeat Liberal David Allister Cameron by less than 600 votes.
  • 1999: Angus MacIsaac unseats incumbent Liberal Hyland Fraser by just 12 votes. MacIsaac had previously served as MLA for Guysborough in 1969 and was re-elected a year later.
  • 1998: Hyland Fraser takes 4,649 votes to win a three-way race over Progressive Conservative Andrew MacNeil and New Democrat Maurice Smith.
  • 1993: Liberal Bill Gillis is re-elected, receiving 4,096 more votes than his nearest challenger, Progressive Conservative Liz Chisholm.