Will Arnett and Kim's star Andrew Phung to present at 2021 Juno Awards

Will Arnett, star of Arrested Development and BoJack Horseman, joins Kim's Convenience's "Kimchee" to present at the 50th awards show on June 6th.

It's not just about music, and the Junos are incorporating Canadian comedy talent into their upcoming 50th awards show. 

The 2021 Juno Awards will air on June 6th at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT on CBC TV, CBC Gem, CBC Radio One, CBC Music and on

Added to the list of presenters, which already includes Shania Twain and Alessia Cara, are Canadian comedy stars Will Arnett and Andrew Phung. 

Arnett rose to mainstream prominence in the role of Gob Bluth in 2003's Arrested Development, and has been successful as the voice of BoJack Horseman in BoJack Horseman, and as voice of the Lego Batman/Bruce Wayne. Arnett continues to work with Lego, as the host of the series Lego Masters, and is also finding success with his podcast with Jason Bateman and Sean Hayes, SmartLess.

Calgary's Phung made a splash with Canadian audiences as fan favourite "Kimchee" on the CBC comedy series Kim's Convenience in 2016, for which he has since won three Canadian Screen Awards.

Following the finale of Kim's earlier this year, Phung is currently working on a new series for CBC called Run the Burbs, where Phung plays a stay-at-home dad with an entrepreneur wife and two kids. 

Previously Phung told the Canadian Press, "In a lot of ways, I think it's a good spiritual continuation for Kim's." 

"Not narratively a continuation, but it's a spiritual continuation in the sense that we get to see a diverse family living their best life, but now we get to see it in the suburbs."

This year's nominees for the Juno Awards Comedy Album of The Year include Nick Nemeroff,  Derek Seguin, Shirley Gnome, Matt Wright and Jacob Samuel. 

Samuel recently appeared in The New Wave of Standup (watch here on CBC Gem), 

The Comedy Album category was reintroduced after 33 years in 2018 thanks to the efforts of Mark Forward, Ben Miner and Graham Clark, and has since been won by comics Ivan Decker, Dave Merheje and Sophie Buddle.

Musical performers at this year's Juno Awards include:

  • Justin Bieber

  • Jann Arden

  • The Tragically Hip with Feist

  • Jessie Reyez

  • Serena Ryder

CBC Music is celebrating the Junos all week long; click here for a full rundown of everything happening leading up to the awards show.

Add some “good” to your morning and evening.

A variety of newsletters you'll love, delivered straight to you.

Sign up now