Results, Ridings & Candidates


2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 175/175 polls
LIB Ben Stewart 9,798 Elected
NDP Tish Lakes 5,281
CON Peter Neville 1,672
GRN Robin Andrew McKim 1,495

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





6,393 votes | 36.96%

10,906 votes | 63.04%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

174/175 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Southern Interior riding, in the central Okanagan Regional District, with the Okanagan River as its eastern boundary, includes the District Municipality of Westside in the south and part of Kelowna in SE, including the area bounded by Trench Place/Clement Avenue/High Road/Glenmore Drive/Highway 97/Gordon Drive/Cadder Avenue.
  • Tsinstikeptum IRs 9 and 10 are in SE corner of riding.
  • Apple orchards, fruit trees and vineyards; the area is the centre of the B.C. wine industry.
  • In the 2006 census, 19% of the population was over the age of 65; the aboriginal population was 5.2%.


  • Riding created in 2008 from: 68% Okanagan-Westside; 15% Kelowna-Lake Country; 12% Kelowna-Mission.

Political History

  • Okanagan South: Social Credit W.A.C. Bennett held riding from 1941-1973 when he resigned; he was Premier from August 1952 until Decemeber 1972.
  • Social Credit Bill Bennett, W.A.C.'s son, won the September 4, 1973 by-election in 1975, 1979 and 1983; became Social Credit Leader in November, 1973; served as Premier between December 1975 and August 1986.
  • In 1986, Social Larry Chalmers and Social Cliff Serwa won when it was a 2-member riding.
  • Okanagan-Penticton: New Democrat Jim Beattie won in 1991.
  • In 1996, Liberal Rick Thorpe defeated Beattie by 1,569 votes.
  • Okanagan-Westside: In 2001, Thorpe defeated New Democrat Ernie Ursuliak by 11,005 votes; appointed Minister of Competition, Science and Enterprise on June 5, 2001; appointed Minister of Provincial Revenue on Jan. 26, 2004.
  • In 2005, Thorpe defeated New Democrat Joyce Procure by 5,275 votes, from June 16, 2005 to June 23, 2008 served as Minister of Small Business and Revenue and Minister responsible for Deregulation; announced in June, 2008 that he wouldn't be running again.