Results, Ridings & Candidates


2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 134/134 polls
LIB Kash P. Heed 9,058 Elected
NDP Gabriel Yiu 8,207
GRN Jodie Joanna Emery 837
BCR Andrew Stevano 116

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





5,975 votes | 35.78%

10,722 votes | 64.22%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

130/134 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Riding takes in SE corner of Vancouver.
  • It runs between Fraser River in south and East 49th Avenue/Nanaimo Street/East 41st Avenue/Rupert Street/East 45th Avenue in the north; between the Vancouver/Burnaby border in the east and Fraser Street in the west.
  • Primarily residential with an industrial belt along the Fraser River.
  • In the 2006 census, the immigrant population was 59.6% which is the third highest in B.C..
  • The visible minority population was 75% which was the 2nd highest in B.C.; 42.6% was Chinese and 16% was South Asian.


  • Riding created from parts of Vancouver South and Vancouver East.
  • In 2000 redistribution, kept most of riding; added small area from from Vancouver-Kensington.
  • In 2008 redistribution, kept 97% of riding; added 4% Vancouver-Kingsway.

Political History

  • Vancouver-Fraserview: in 1991, New Democrat Bernie Simpson defeated Liberal Rod Raglin by 2,179 votes.
  • In 1996, New Democrat Ian Waddell defeated Liberal Gulzar Cheema by 380 votes; served as Minister of Small Business, Tourism and Culture; Minister of Environment, Lands and Parks.
  • In 2001, Liberal Ken Johnston defeated Waddell by 4,546 votes.
  • In 2005, Liberal Wally Oppal defeated New Democrat Ravinder Gill by 1,112 votes; on June 16, 2005 he was appointed Attorney General and Minister responsible for Multiculturalism.
  • Oppal announced on March 17, 2009 he would be running in Delta South.