Results, Ridings & Candidates

Vancouver-False Creek

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 134/134 polls
LIB Mary McNeil 8,538 Elected
NDP Jordan Parente 4,128
GRN Damian Kettlewell 1,925
CON David Robert Hutchinson 360
IND Michael R. Halliday 73
BCR Otto Grecz 24

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





7,079 votes | 47.71%

7,759 votes | 52.29%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

134/134 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Riding takes in most of downtown Vancouver and the area around False Creek.
  • It is bounded by Maple Street/Arbutus Street/West 4th Avenue/West 6th Avenue/West 2nd Avenue/Main Street/Union Street/Quebec Street/Keefer Street/Taylor Street/West Pender Street/Homer Street/West Cordova Street/Howe Street/Waterfront Road/Burrard Inlet/Jervis Street/West Georgia Street/Burrard Street/English Bay.
  • Also in riding are Vancouver campus of Simon Fraser University, the downtown campus of BCIT and the downtown campus of Vancouver Community College.
  • In 2006 census, the immigrant population was 38%; the visible minority population was 35% of which was 15% Chinese.
  • Renters 52% outnumber owners, 52% to 48%.
  • 44% had university degrees which is the 4th highest in the province.


  • Riding created in 2008 redistribution from: 39% Vancouver-Burrard; 10% Vancouver-Fairview; 8% Vancouver-Point Grey; 4% Vancouver-Mount Pleasant.

Political History

  • Vancouver-Burrard: new in 1991; In 1991, New Democrat Emery Barnes, incumbent from Vancouver Centre, defeated Liberal Steven Bourne.
  • In 1996, New Democrat Tim Stevenson defeated Liberal Duncan Wilson by 2,671 votes; appointed Minister of Employment and Immigration on November 1, 2000.
  • In 2001, Liberal Lorne Mayencourt defeated Stevenson by 4,037 votes.
  • In 2005, Mayencourt again defeated Stevenson, this time by 11 votes.
  • Mayencourt resigned to run as a Conservative in the 2008 federal election.
  • In the October 29, 2008 by-election, New Democrat Spencer Herbert defeate Liberal Arthur Griffiths by 1,909 votes.