Results, Ridings & Candidates

Surrey-White Rock

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 147/147 polls
LIB Gordon Hogg 14,213 Elected
NDP Drina Allen 6,274
GRN Don Pitcairn 1,975
REF David Charles Hawkins 573

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





7,581 votes | 34.21%

14,577 votes | 65.79%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

144/147 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Riding contains SW corner of Surrey and city of White Rock.
  • It is bounded by Semiahmoo Bay in the south and west, by Highway 99 in the east and 24th Avenue in the north.
  • Semiahmoo Reserve is in SE corner.
  • Area surrounding White Rock is technically part of Surrey but is quite separate from rest of that municipality.
  • In 2006 census, population over age 65 was 24.4%; 3rd highest in BC.
  • The visible minority population was 10.6%.


  • Riding created from SW corner of Surrey-White Rock-Cloverdale.
  • In 2000 redistribution, kept most of existing riding.
  • In 2008 redistribution, kept 96% of riding.

Political History

  • Surrey-White Rock: Liberal Wilf Hurd won in 1991 and 1996; Hurd resigned to run federally in 1997 election.
  • In the by-election on September 15, 1997, Liberal Gordon Hogg defeated Reform candidate David Secord by 5,199 votes.
  • In 2001, Hogg defeated Green candidate Ruth Christine by 15,101 votes; served as Minister of Children and Family Development between June 5, 2001 and January 26, 2004.
  • In 2005, Hogg defeated New Democrat Moh Chelali by 8,951 votes; on August 15, 2006 appointed Minister of State for ActNow BC; on June 23, 2008 appointed Minister of State for Mining.