Results, Ridings & Candidates


2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 119/119 polls
NDP Bruce Ralston 9,978 Elected
LIB Radhia Benalia 3,884
GRN Bernadette Keenan 1,120

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





5,309 votes | 36.82%

9,109 votes | 63.18%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

117/119 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Riding takes in NW corner of Surrey.
  • Fraser River forms its northern and western borders. Southern boundary is 96th Avenue; the boundary in the east is 140th Street/100th Avenue/148th Street/108th Avenue/Bon Accord Creek.
  • In the 2006 census, the immigrant population was 38%; visible minority population was 45%, 20% of which was South Asian.


  • Riding created in 1989 redistribution from part of Surrey-Guildford-Whalley.
  • In 2000 redistribution, kept most of riding; added small area from Surrey-Green Timbers.
  • In 2008 redistribution, kept 78% of riding; added 23% Surrey-Green Timbers.

Political History

  • Surrey-Whalley: New Democrat Joan Smallwood, the incumbent from Surrey-Guildford-Whalley, won here in 1991 and 1996; served as Minister of Social Services; Minister of Housing, Recreation and Consumer Services; Minister of Labour; Minister of Women's Equality; Minister of Labour.
  • In 2001, Liberal Elzyne Brenzinger defeated Smallwood by 2,157 votes; suspended from caucus for two weeks for physically attacking an aide in December 2003; on March 8, 2004 she quit the Liberal caucus accusing Premier Campbell of ruining the province, destroying communities and showing a complete and utter disregard for the opinions of caucus members.
  • In 2005, New Democrat Bruce Ralston defeated Liberal Barbara Steele by 3,954 votes.