Results, Ridings & Candidates


2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 114/114 polls
LIB Dave Hayer 8,449 Elected
NDP Pat Zanon 6,844
GRN Gerald Singh 742

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





4,953 votes | 33.00%

10,055 votes | 67.00%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

110/114 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Riding, which contains NE part of Surrey, was significantly changed in redistribution keeping only 54% of riding.
  • It is now bounded by the Fraser River in the north; the Surrey/Langley boundary line in the east; Highway 1A/80th Avenue in the south; 164th Street/88th Avenue/160th Street/96th Avenue/156th Street/100th Avenue/148th Street/108th Avenue/Bon Accord Creek in the west.
  • Highway 1, the Trans Canada Highway, divides riding between north and south.
  • Barnston Island and Barnston Island IR3 are in NW part of riding.
  • In the 2006 census, the immigrant population was 42%.
  • The visible minority population was 47%; 13% Chinese and 10.5% South Asian.


  • Riding of Surrey-Tynehead was created in 2000 redistribution from parts of Surrey-Cloverdale, Surrey-Green Timbers and Surrey-Whalley ridings.
  • In 2008 redistribution, kept only 54% of the riding; added 22% Surrey-Whalley; 6% Surrey-Green Timbers.

Political History

  • Surrey-Tynehead: In 2001, Liberal Dave Hayer defeated New Democrat Barry Bell by 9,093 votes.
  • In 2005, Hayer again defeated Bell, this time by 2,583 votes.