Results, Ridings & Candidates

Peace River North

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 110/110 polls
LIB Pat Pimm 3,666 Elected
IND Arthur A. Hadland 2,706
NDP Jackie Allen 1,158
GRN Liz Logan 860
BCR Suzanne Arntson 50

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





3,190 votes | 38.98%

4,994 votes | 61.02%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

110/110 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • A large riding geographically, it is in the northeast corner of B.C., which takes in the northern part of the Peace River Regional District.
  • It extends from Fort St. John and Hudson's Hope in south corner all the way north along the B.C./Alberta border to the Yukon/Northwest Territories border.
  • The Alaska Highway/Laird Highway divide the eastern and western parts of the riding.
  • Fort St. John is the main population centre and agricultural base.
  • Fort Nelson, in the northern area, is the transportation and resource base.
  • There are 8 native reserves in the riding – in 2006 census, aboriginal population was 12%.


  • In 2000 redistribution, kept the majority of existing riding and gained small area from Peace River South.
  • In 2008 redistribution, kept all of riding; added 10% from Peace River South and 1% from Prince George North.

Political History

  • Peace River North: In 1991, Social Credit Richard Neufeld defeated New Democrat Jean Leahy by 3,411 votes. Neufeld resigned from the Social Credit caucus to sit as a member of the Reform Party in 1994.
  • In 1996, the now Reform Party candidate Neufeld defeated Liberal Ben Knutson by 2,162 votes. Neufeld resigned from the Reform Party and joined the Liberal caucus in 1997.
  • In 2001, the now Liberal Party candidate Neufeld defeated New Democrat Brian Churchill by 5,582 votes. Appointed Minister of Energy and Mines.
  • In 2005, Neufeld again defeated Churchill, this time by 2,987 votes. Appointed Minister of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources.
  • In 2008, Neufeld resigned after being appointed to the Senate.