Results, Ridings & Candidates

New Westminster

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 142/148 polls
NDP Dawn Black 11,817 Elected
LIB Carole Dorothy Millar 7,340
GRN Matthew Laird 1,899

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





8,550 votes | 41.44%

12,081 votes | 58.56%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

141/148 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • New Westminster's riding boundaries are identical to the boundaries of the City of New Westminster.
  • New Westminster acts as a port and service centre for agriculture and forestry in the Fraser Valley.
  • It contains modern residential high-rises and trendy shops and restaurants in the Quay area.
  • Douglas College campus is also in riding.
  • In 2006 census, immigration population was 32%. Visible minority population was 30%.


  • Only a minor change in 2000 redistribution; lost small area.
  • No change in 2008 redistribution.

Political History

  • New Westminster: New Democrat Dennis Cocke won in 1969, 1972, 1975, 1979 and 1983. Served as Minister of Health Services and Hospital Insurance; Minister of Health.
  • New Democrat Anita Hagen won in 1986 and 1991. Served as Deputy Premier; Minister of Education; Minister responsible for Multiculturalism and Human Rights
  • In 1996, New Democrat Graeme Bowbrick defeated Liberal Helen Sparkes by 1,827 votes. Served as Minister of Advanced Education, Training and Technology; Minister responsible for Youth; Attorney-General; Minister responsible for Human Rights.
  • In 2001, Liberal Joyce Murray defeated Bowbrick by 4,088 votes. Served as Minister of Water, Land and Air Protection; Minister of Management Services, January 2004 to June 2005.
  • In 2005, New Democrat Chuck Puchmayr defeated Murray by 3,581 votes.
  • In January 2009, Puchmayr announced he had been diagnosed with liver cancer and would not run again.