Results, Ridings & Candidates

Nanaimo-North Cowichan

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 132/132 polls
NDP Doug Routley 12,159 Elected
LIB Rob Hutchins 7,956
GRN Ian Elliott Gartshore 2,004
BCR Ronald James Fuson 259

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





9,627 votes | 43.96%

12,271 votes | 56.04%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

131/132 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • This Vancouver Island riding, on the Strait of Georgia, includes the part of Nanaimo west of Highway 19 and south of Harewood Road/View Street/Needham Street/5th St. in the north; the southern end of the riding includes most of the District Municipality of North Cowichan in the area north of Herd Road.
  • Most of the riding's southern boundary is the Chemainus River.
  • The riding also includes the town of Ladysmith, as well as Gabriola, Valdes, Thetis and Kuper Islands and many native reserves including Chemainus IR13 and Nanaimo River IRs.
  • Aboriginal population in 2006 census was 9%. Population over age 65 was 16%.


  • The riding was created in 2008 redistribution from 50% of Nanaimo and 40% of Cowichan-Ladysmith.

Political History

  • Cowichan-Ladysmith: New Democrat Jan Pullinger won in 1991 and 1996.
  • In 2001, Liberal Graham Bruce defeated New Democrat Rob Hutchins by 4,924 votes. Appointed Minister of Skills Development and Labour, June 2001 to June 2005; Government House Leader, December 2004 to June 2005.
  • In 2005, New Democrat Doug Routley defeated Bruce by 2,589 votes.
  • Nanaimo: New Democrat Dave Stupich won in 1963, 1966; defeated in 1969; re-elected in 1972, 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1986. Served as Minister of Agriculture; Minister of Finance. Resigned to run federally.
  • New Democrat Jan Pullinger won the March 1989 by-election by 5,551 votes.
  • New Democrat Dale Lovick won in 1991 and 1996. Served as Minister of Labour; Minister of Aboriginal Affairs; House Leader.
  • In 2001, Liberal Mike Hunter defeated New Democrat Leonard Krog by 3,146 votes.
  • In 2005, Krog defeated Hunter by 4,569 votes.