Results, Ridings & Candidates

Maple Ridge-Mission

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 116/116 polls
LIB Marc H. J. Dalton 8,390 Elected
NDP Mike Bocking 8,194
GRN Mike Gildersleeve 1,299
REF Ian Anthony Vaughan 314

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





4,051 votes | 34.88%

7,562 votes | 65.12%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

82/116 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Lower Mainland riding, with Fraser River as southern border, has most of the District Municipality of Maple Ridge in western half of the the riding; eastern half of the riding contains most of the District Municipality of Mission; all but the area south of Dewdney Trunk Road and east of Cedar Street/6th Avenue/Cedar Valley Connector/Fraser Crescent.
  • Riding includes Alouette Correctional Centre for Women and Fraser Regional Correctional Centre as well as Whonnock IR1 and Langley IRs 2, 3, 4 and 5 which are in southern part of the riding.
  • In the 2006 census the aboriginal population was 3.6%.


  • In 1989 redistribution, Dewdney was divided into Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows and Mission-Kent.
  • In 2000, Maple Ridge-Mission was created from parts of Mission-Kent and Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows.
  • In 2008 redistribution, KEPT ONLY 58% of riding; added 19% Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows.

Political History

  • Mission-Kent: New Democrat Dennis Streifel won in 1991 and 1996; served as Minister of Forests; Minister of Social Services; Minister of Human Resources; Minister of Fisheries.
  • Maple Ridge-Mission: In 2001, Liberal Randy Hawes defeated New Democrat Rose Bennett by 8,210 votes.
  • In 2005, Hawes defeated New Democrat Jenny Stevens by 199 votes.